Ultimate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
"This is a good, old-fashioned way of making delicious French toast. To add a little pizzazz to it, sprinkle on some cinnamon after dipping the bread into the batter. And add a couple drops of vanilla (to your taste). Serve hot with butter and Sugar or powder sugar not maple syrup. This is so good, enjoy!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjheffern
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I totally agree with reviwer Linda M. I have made french toast for years and always wondered why mine never tasted as good as others. Wasn't til I got on this great site and learned I was using way too much milk which was why mine was too soggy! This basic recipe is all ya need. Nothin fancy but does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
IF YOU WANT EXCELLENT FRENCH TOAST, USE DAY OLD ENGLISH MUFFIN BREAD OR HOMEMADE WHITE BREAD THAT IS SLICED AND DAY OLD OR STALE. ALSO, WHEN YOU FRY THE FRENCH TOAST, SPRINKLE ONE SIDE WITH A CINNAMON SUGAR MIXTURE BEFORE YOU FLIP IT. IT WILL MAKE A NICE SUGARY, CARAMELIZED "CRUST" ON THAT SIDE. IT WON'T EVEN NEED SYRUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Incredible! My mom makes French toast with the same recipe, and all us kids love it! Don't try to go over the top; just keep it simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Years ago I evolved French Toas tinto something special by adding vanilla extract & cinnamon. I also always use thick sour dough bread...the more sour, the better. Sunday mornings coming down.....yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Can't beat this old standby - for the mom who adds sugar to the batter --- we never had ours with syrup - mom always put butter on ours and lightly sprinkled with sugar -- I still eat mine the same way. I do add vanilla to mine and have some friends who add almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Just like my mom used to make except she added white sugar and nutmeg. I like it custardy and don't need the maple syrup. My wife does put syrup or powedered sugar on hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Whenever I make French Toast, I always add almond extract, instead of adding vanilla. It's much more flavorful. And I know it's weird, but ever since I was a kid, I have always preferred sprinkling sugar on my French Toast instead of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I add 1-2 tsp of real vanilla extract to my mixture. Ohhh heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherriepierg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States