Ultimate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This definitely is "good old fashioned french toast" - one of my all time breakfast favorites! I don't know if I'd call this "ultimate" and everyone has their own particular way of making french toast to their liking. I add a little more milk, some white sugar, a tsp. of vanilla and a bit of nutmeg along with the cinnamon to the mixture. And just as the submitter states, serve hot wtih butter and maple syrup (a little dusting of powdered sugar never hurt either) - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a basic recipe, a good start. Like many others, I use a tsp of vanilla and up the cinnamon (it depends on how strong/fresh yours is). I also add 2T. of maple syrup and 1/8 tsp of ground nutmeg to the soak (it's not meant to be a batter, it is a soak). I use stale/day old bread--the origins of this dish is pain perdu, lost bread, it's what one can do with less-than-fresh bread (hence the need for a soak). Alternatively, one can do as someone else suggested--toast the bread first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Just the way I like mine! Sometimes I use almond extract or to really spice it up some orange extract and grated orange. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was a great recipe, I put a spin on it used fat free french vanilla creamer instead of milk, or you can use anther flavor, truly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This basic version hardly deserves the "ultimate" moniker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
"This is a good, old-fashioned way of making delicious French toast. To add a little pizzazz to it, sprinkle on some cinnamon after dipping the bread into the batter. And add a couple drops of vanilla (to your taste). Serve hot with butter and Sugar or powder sugar not maple syrup. This is so good, enjoy!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjheffern
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I totally agree with reviwer Linda M. I have made french toast for years and always wondered why mine never tasted as good as others. Wasn't til I got on this great site and learned I was using way too much milk which was why mine was too soggy! This basic recipe is all ya need. Nothin fancy but does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
IF YOU WANT EXCELLENT FRENCH TOAST, USE DAY OLD ENGLISH MUFFIN BREAD OR HOMEMADE WHITE BREAD THAT IS SLICED AND DAY OLD OR STALE. ALSO, WHEN YOU FRY THE FRENCH TOAST, SPRINKLE ONE SIDE WITH A CINNAMON SUGAR MIXTURE BEFORE YOU FLIP IT. IT WILL MAKE A NICE SUGARY, CARAMELIZED "CRUST" ON THAT SIDE. IT WON'T EVEN NEED SYRUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Incredible! My mom makes French toast with the same recipe, and all us kids love it! Don't try to go over the top; just keep it simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Years ago I evolved French Toas tinto something special by adding vanilla extract & cinnamon. I also always use thick sour dough bread...the more sour, the better. Sunday mornings coming down.....yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States