Ultimate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
quick,easy and delish i added the vanilla and cinnamon WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was good. Enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slattekm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
4.5 Stars: This is a great classic French Toast, but I added at least a teaspoon of vanilla. I have made it twice and found it a little eggy. I will decrease it by one egg and/or add more milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This has a very high egg to milk ratio, basically an egg for every slice of bread. I needed to double the recipe, but just couldn't justify using 8 eggs for 8 slices of french toast. So I only used 6 eggs and increased the milk just a tad. The recipe turned out great, and not too eggy. Everyone loved it and it cooked up nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good! Made three slices per person (young teenagers) and it was too much for half of them. If you plan about 2.5/person that should be good. (Two was too much for me.) I am sure leftovers will heat up in snap. Added vanilla as recommended and used cinnamon raisin bread (perfect choice). The ratio of eggs to milk is perfect not too soggy or dry. Did up all the bread and set aside. Used both a frying pan (3 slices) and a griddle (6 slices), went very quick. Added margerine to pan/griddle to give some more flavour and crispyness. Put some thick-sliced bacon on parchment paper on a cookie sheet (with edges) in the oven at 375°F for half an hour ahead (drain fat and broil on low for last few minutes) and everything was ready at once. Start to finish, including eating took one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lottie Gilpin Bardoel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is a really good recipe the only thing disappointment I had making this was finding out I was out of Syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Great classic french toast recipe! Sometimes I add the caramel coffee flavoring to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
YUMMY IN MY TUMMY! of course, its imparative that texas toast is used, and also some vanilla extract. best lazy morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
also very good using raisin bread or texas toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I'm going to try it the way one suggested, like her Mother taught her, to TOAST the bread first. It took me years b4 I found someone said to add vanilla. You'll always need minimum of 1 t vanilla That will always 'make' your french toast. Not fair to 'rate it' if you change it s. I'm 'rating' it low as it is not a good recipe 'without' a teaspoon of vanilla, it's dull!!! I'm an old/er person that bakes a lot and loves to 'revamp'/'perfect' recipes. (That's per FECT, not PER fect). JudyK Iowa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States