Ultimate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This is a simple, old fashioned recipe that reminds me of when I was a kid...I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This just didn't do it for us. Try 'Fluffy French Toast' submitted by Bonnie on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Both of my little ones really enjoyed this. I did add some sugar to the batter because I don't like to drown their slices in syrup. My son enjoyed his with peanut butter. Thanks for this simple but kid-friendly recipe Sevanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I love french toast. I adjust the eggs to however many slices of bread I use. Usually use french, italian or white bread. I start out with 2 eggs and a little bit of milk and sprinkle in cinnamon and about 1/4 tsp. of vanilla extract. Then sprinkle additional cinnamon on each side. Sometimes I've even added a touch of orange juice to eggs. Then I fry in oil until crispy. People that have had it say it is the best french toast. Such a good flavor with the vanilla and cinnamon. Try it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
You need to add a bit extra grease to the pan so the toast won't stick. Also, I had to double everything but the bread because there weren't enough eggs. It could've done with about a tablespoon extra of milk, and when I ate some, I found that the inside was a bit mushy, as though it hadn't been cooked enough. Next time I'll go a little lighter on how much egg I put onto the bread so it's not so mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was ok. Nothing special...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is a great recipe. Espically the cinamon adds a great taste to the french toast. GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
great receipe. The cinnamon is a great touch. My nieces asks if I can make them everytime they sleep over. A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Of course this is just a plain old fashioned french toast recipe! Isn't that what's it's all about? With all of the more "gourmet" type french toast recipes on this site, I'm sure there are plenty of novice cooks out there who welcome knowing how to make this basic comforting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2002
So easy and the kids loved it! I would be sure to use a thick bread so it isn't soggy. Sammye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States