Ultimate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by b-a-dva
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is a very tasty recipe. It's simple and straight to the point. Nothing fancy, just delicious. I made mine with sour dough bread and a bit of vanilla extract for added flavor. It's quick to make and breakfast is done within 10 mins. This one is a keeper, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b-a-dva

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Simple yet delicous, just add some vanilla to add more flavor and you have a great breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
added some vanilla and almond extract & it turned out wonderfully! yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGLpirate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Yumm! Turned out nice and fluffy...perfect texture! Reminds of french toast my dad made for my brothers and I as a child :) My kids loved it too...they had fun making as well! We added 1/2 teaspoon of VANILLA...probably could have used another 1/4 teaspoon (we love vanilla)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Just like other reviewers, I agree that this is a "basic" french toast recipe that is easy to prepare and quite good. I add vanilla butter nut extract and orange zest to my egg mixture and sprinkle the finished product with extra cinnamon and powdered sugar. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was okay. The egg batter was very thick though and the bread didn't really get moist in the middles. I had more than enough batter and could have gotten by with half the amount. It turned out fine, but wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is a really good base recipe however when making it, it just felt like it was missing something so I added a bit of nutmeg (about half as much as the cinnamon) and it was awesome. I was able to cook it 8 slices up on my griddle. I used thick slice bread and there was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very nice, very simple recipe. The batter made 5 slices and I cut the bread in half to make it easier to dip and cook. My fiance totally loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
great basic recipe for french toast. can always use add-ons and improvements but, hey, sometimes simple things are the most delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
when I was younger, my family would cook several batches and then we would reheat them in the toaster before school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States