Ultimate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Incredible! My mom makes French toast with the same recipe, and all us kids love it! Don't try to go over the top; just keep it simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Years ago I evolved French Toas tinto something special by adding vanilla extract & cinnamon. I also always use thick sour dough bread...the more sour, the better. Sunday mornings coming down.....yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Can't beat this old standby - for the mom who adds sugar to the batter --- we never had ours with syrup - mom always put butter on ours and lightly sprinkled with sugar -- I still eat mine the same way. I do add vanilla to mine and have some friends who add almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Just like my mom used to make except she added white sugar and nutmeg. I like it custardy and don't need the maple syrup. My wife does put syrup or powedered sugar on hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Whenever I make French Toast, I always add almond extract, instead of adding vanilla. It's much more flavorful. And I know it's weird, but ever since I was a kid, I have always preferred sprinkling sugar on my French Toast instead of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I add 1-2 tsp of real vanilla extract to my mixture. Ohhh heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherriepierg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Thanks for a good, quick recipe for an old favorite. I added a little vanilla for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mizukidoll
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
It was good, except I didn't like how the cinnamon acted in the egg and milk mixture, so I just sprinkled it on top at the end. And to give it a little bit of a sweet pick me up, I added 4 drops of liquid sweetener and 1/8 teaspoon of vanilla. The hint of vanilla in the after taste was really good! This was my first time making French Toast myself, and this recipe was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was an ok recipe. I added some vanilla and a dash of salt to the egg and cinnamon. I also doubled the amount of cinnamon. That made it great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States