Ultimate Double Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2000
This is the best chocolate cookie I think I will ever eat. It is certainly better than any I have eaten to date. If this suggests my search is over, so be it. I can live with that. The chocolate flavor opens in the mouth to a size much grander than you would expect. And then the chewy center, that fudgy brownie effect. Man. I am ready to go spend some serious money on some serious chocolate and find out how far off the chart I can launch this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2000
These are best chocolate cookies I've ever made. They turned out beautifully. I highly recommend this recipe for chocolate lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
Delicious! Everyone loved them. But my first batch came out burnt. I had to lower the temp to 325. At first, I thought I had messed up because the cookies came out too floury and cake like. But after eating them the next day, YUMMY! They are very chocolately, although, not as chewy as I hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KICKCHICK99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
It was a very simple recipe and very easy to make. The raves were amazing! Make sure to use the best quality chocolate you can find/afford! They were rich and delicious. My friends and family were anxious for the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Very good! These cookies come out of the oven looking beautiful, and the taste is what every chocoholic dreams of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Thank You Carol P. whoever you are! These are definately right up the alley of a chocoholic. I have made all kinds of chocolate cookies and they are either not chocolaty enough or have the consistency of a brownie. These are perfect. I added chocolate chips to mine, but I actually think they may have been distracting from the perfect chocolate taste of the dough. This recipe will always be a treasure in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
Really great chocolate flavor. I'd been having trouble getting the right consistency in the finished cookie, though...I would end up having to throw out half the batch (never seem to set up). But the flavor is so awesome that I kept trying til I got it right. Definitely, the trick to these cookies is to let the dough sit at LEAST 45 minutes before scooping/baking. Now they're coming out perfect every time. Totally decadent cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This was a really excellent cookie with rich chocolate flavor that reminded me of "candy bar" fudge cake or chocolate fudge ice cream. It's a little more trouble than I'm used to, but it's not difficult to make. My comments: I used salted butter and omitted salt from the recipe, and that seemed to work fine. I didn't have parchment paper, so I used cooking spray on metal cookie sheets and that seemed to work well, though be very careful not to overbake. I only baked for 8 minutes and I think it should have been shorter. I agree with the other reviewer who said to let the dough stand at least 45 minutes. The last cookies I baked held their shape better than the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
Even if God Himself told me not to make these cookies again, I would have to disobey. They are an experience unto themselves. The only thing I might add is white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
These cookies are delicious. They taste just like brownies. Very fudgy and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States