Ultimate Double Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is spot on. Took 2/3 of the cookies to work and they were all gone by lunch time. Cookies are the breakfast of champions, at least on Mondays. The only change I made was baking them for 13 mins instead of the instructed 10. I chalk this up to a difference in actual oven temp (vs. oven display). Baked the 1st batch for 10 mins, let them cool and found them slightly saltier than expected (wasn't bad, kind of like a salted caramel). When I did the next batch at 13 min, the saltiness wasn't present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
My hubby said these were okay. I used 2 cups of chocolate chips, melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Amazing!!! I added 1/2 Teaspoon of cinnomman and HOLY COW were these wonderful with coffee, with red wine, with cold milk, ...!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is the best chocolate cookie I have ever tasted. I appreciated the reviewer suggestions that rolling the cookies into balls yielded the best results. Time to chill in the fridge for 30 min coupled with rolling the dough into balls yielded perfect, thick, chewy cookies with none of the flattening that some reviewers described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These cookies were awesome! They dont come out "tasting like coffee" really, but the coffee definitely enhances the dark chocolate flavor. Also I let my dough sit for over an hour and it was really easy to roll out. I think next time I will try a caramel glaze over them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Whoa...yeah, definitely PMS cookies. I did exactly like the recipe said, except I didn't have any coffee or espresso powder on hand. The coffee probably would have added an interesting subtle note, but I sure as heck didn't really miss it because of all that chocolately goodness! I used a combination of chocolate I had sitting around for the 1 lb. (Baker's semi-sweet and some morsels), but I made sure to use Wilbur Dutch Processed cocoa. I made one huge mistake...I told my mom I'd make something she can take to work for a pot luck charity lunch, and it ended up being these. *sigh* Next batch is all mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I didn't have dutch cocoa or unsalted butter, so I just used regular Hershey's cocoa and salted butter. I halved the salt, but followed the directions on everything else. The cookies came out great and my daughters were both asking for them before I even took them out of the oven! While they were cooling, I sprinkled them with powdered sugar for a pretty presentation. We all thought they tasted like brownies...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Wait for the cookies to set - HA! It was hard enough to wait for the dough to set w/o picking away at it... yummy :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Did not like the way the recipe was written 10 tbsp of butter who does that? Whats wrong with using cups? Also used 1 tsp of baking soda instead of powder I did not have powder and it also made the cookies less cake like. After all was said and done the cookies came out nice, soft, crunchy around the edge and chewy not too chocolaty, did not taste like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States