Ultimate Cranberry Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Great cake! Changed a few things though. I really like cranberry and orange together, so instead of using 2 cups of milk, I used 1 cup of un-diluted frozen orange juice concentrate, and 1 cup of milk. I also added 2 tsps cinnamon, and 1 tsp nutmeg. The butter sauce was a little sweet for my tase, so next time I would deffinetly cut down on the sugar. We loved it though! Thanks for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Absolutely delicious - wouldn't change a thing in the cake recipe! I also made half of the butter sauce and that's plenty! I sliced the cake and placed on a Christmas platter with the sauce in a bowl in the middle - beautiful display. This is a keeper for holiday parties! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Truly what makes this cake is the butter sauce!!! The cake itself is not very sweet. I infact, just added the cranberries to a yellow cake mix, and then topped it off with that wonderful butter sauce.....everyone loved it!! The butter sauce is also wonderful on just plain chocolate cake too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I made this for Christmas last year and my family couldn't quit raving about it. I will definitely be making it again. I added rum to my butter sauce and it was DELICIOUS! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was a hit with my family but add blueberry instead of cranberry and it was soooo good especially with the hot butter sauce, my four years old love it so much. And I bake it in muffin tins and it looks adorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I'm glad I tried this recipe but don't think I'll make it again. The cake itself doesn't have great flavour or texture. The sauce is good and that's what seems to give it the flavour and moistness it needs. I couldn't bring myself to make the full sauce recipe so I cut it in half which is still ample. The guests I served it to last night only had 1 small piece...no seconds. Hey, you've gotta try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe was really good! The butter sauce is truly wonderful, and is a great companion to the cake. I took this to a church function, and got several requests for the recipe! :) Thanks, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
The sauce is what makes this cake so great. I took this cake to a Hanukkah party and a Christmas party last year and it got rave reviews at both. I can't remember when I've had so many requests for one recipie. I will be making this, by request :) every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
The mixed reviews are interesting for this cake. It seems that people either love it or hate it. I thought it was excellent, although I made two very minor changes. First, I used 8 tablespoons of butter rather than six--there is just very little fat in this recipe, and I thought it would help. Since I haven't tried it with only six, I can't really compare the original with what I made, but the 8 tablespoons worked very well and I suspect that the cake is a bit moister as a result. I also did not want to open two cans of evaporated milk to get two cups. Instead, I used a 12 oz. can and added 4 oz of regular milk. Again, this worked well. I have a feeling that the people who don't like the cake are folks who were expecting a super sweet dessert. This cake is not super sweet, and that is what I prefer in a dessert. If you're looking for ultrasweet cake, you will probably be disappointed. However, this is why the sauce works so well--the sauce, which is excellent, is very, very sweet. I think the sauce pairs well with the tartness of the fresh cranberries. I'm also likely to use the sauce with other cakes--I have an apple bundt cake that would be perfect with the sauce. Overall, a very good recipe that I will add to my holiday arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This cake is awesome and was a big hit! I was concerned because it does not have any eggs in it, but it turned out great! The butter cream sauce was an excellent topper and I use it for other cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States