Ultimate Comfort Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
The heavy cream gives it a nice flavor but I found the dumplings to be bland and the broth thinner than what I am accustomed to. I will use to broth recipe again but will thicken it with instant mashed potatoes and make my usual drop dumplings with poultry seasoning. My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Really helped me through the divorce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
This is the best chicken stew recipie I have ever eaten. I adapted the recipie slightly by using 10 oz. egg noodles in place of the dumplings (which I didn't care for), and increasing the broth, and it was a hit. Every bit worth the effort it takes to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good, but I just can't understand why anyone would discard all those veggies. I kept them in. Also added some herbs to the dumplings at other's suggestions. They were the best part of the dish I think. The chicken and gravy and veggies were good of course, just nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
OH MY!!! This recipe was incredible. I had very hard to please chicken n dumpling experts and boy, did I impress my mother in law with this creamy and delicious recipe. I recommend homemade mashed potatoes with heavy cream as a side. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
It didnt work out exactly like the recipe, but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VWodtke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is a hit at my house. I make it dairy free by using coconut milk to make the dumplings and added some ginger and cumin to the stew. Thickened it once with leftover sweet potato and added curry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
minus the carrots, which I think are better left out... this is the exact recipe I made over a year ago for the first time and I still get requests on at least a monthly basis to make it again. It's become a staple, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtimion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
my younger kids loved this. i took some of the other reviewers' advice and added egg noodles along with only half the amount of dumplings. I was afraid they would be bland so i added a pinch of dried herbs into the batter. It was a hit and I'm making it again a week later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Would make a great "cream of chicken" soup without the dumplings, which are a bit heavy. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States