Ultimate Chocolate Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Wow. What can I say. I don 't even eat dessert ever!!! But I certainly ate this one. So very easy to make. The prep time and cook times are right on the money. I used Lindt 70% chocolate and it was perfect. Thank you Chef John this is about the fourth or fifth recipe of yours that I have tried and they are all excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This dessert was so easy to make and make me look like a total star at a party I hosted recently. I made these the night before which really simplified my cooking needs on the day of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
It is THE ultimate chocolate dessert one can ask for! it is so easy to put together but looks so elegant - almost like you have slogged the whole day in the kitchen just to make this treat. For that, 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I can't stop eating this dessert! I have made it 3 times and the only change I make is that I add a little extra instant coffee. This dessert goes great with raspberry vodka and other strong liquors (in very small amounts - usually a few drops per serving). The longer you keep this in the fridge the more the chocolate will clump together and harden - but I like it better that way. Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Oh, this one's sinful. I made this on a large scale for a dessert bar I had for my son's graduation party. Out of the 7 desserts I made, this was the one people went gaga over. It's so simple. It's very rich. the serving size is spot on. Any larger and you wouldn't be able to finish it. It's funny 2 different people at my party described it as "See's candy truffle in a dish." This was said at two different times by two different people. This is a very rich, thick grown up pudding. Even my husband likes it, and he's not a real pudding person. Thanks so much Chef John. Ya got a winner here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Family gathering of 25 thought I was a culinary genius! Thank you for helping make Father's Day amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Fabulous recipe!!!! With its great taste and easy preparation, it will certainly become part of my "fancy" dessert collection. I can't wait to try some variations like orange zest, fresh raspberries, etc. I served it with the recommended lightly whipped cream and chocolate shavings, along with homemade chocolate biscotti that we used as spoons - YUM! Word of warning, though: as written, this recipe definitely makes 4 servings - I split it between two small dessert bowls instead of four espresso cups and it was waaaaay too much to eat in one sitting. I would also *strongly* recommend that you use really good quality chocolate. When a recipe has only a few ingredients, it is absolutely essential that you don't skimp when stocking them or the finished product isn't going to be as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I love how quick an easy this is while being very elegant. Adding a little cayenne or mint or lemon/orange oil make for a different twist and flavour. Use the best chocolate you like for the best results. For those that cannot get it to set or that the texture is grainy. The solution is get richer cream and different chocolate. The cream is the one that prevents the setting. heavy cream is in the 30% fat range. That is the requirement. You can try whipping cream BUT some have added sugars. The organic types usually do not. So do not skimp, use the good cream. As for the graininess this is usually the chocolate. It could be too old or simply of a lower quality. Again this is a high end desert, not chocolate pudding. Pay a few dollars a bar for 70%+ cocoa content. If you find it too bitter add more sugar the intensity of the chocolate is what you are looking for. Hope I helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Decadent, easy delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States