Ultimate Chocolate Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I love how quick an easy this is while being very elegant. Adding a little cayenne or mint or lemon/orange oil make for a different twist and flavour. Use the best chocolate you like for the best results. For those that cannot get it to set or that the texture is grainy. The solution is get richer cream and different chocolate. The cream is the one that prevents the setting. heavy cream is in the 30% fat range. That is the requirement. You can try whipping cream BUT some have added sugars. The organic types usually do not. So do not skimp, use the good cream. As for the graininess this is usually the chocolate. It could be too old or simply of a lower quality. Again this is a high end desert, not chocolate pudding. Pay a few dollars a bar for 70%+ cocoa content. If you find it too bitter add more sugar the intensity of the chocolate is what you are looking for. Hope I helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Please help me. Mine was in the fridge for over eight hours and did not set up one bit. I followed the recipe and instructions to the T, I even watched the tutorial video. I was really crushed when I went to serve this to my husband for an early Fathers Day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Oh, this one's sinful. I made this on a large scale for a dessert bar I had for my son's graduation party. Out of the 7 desserts I made, this was the one people went gaga over. It's so simple. It's very rich. the serving size is spot on. Any larger and you wouldn't be able to finish it. It's funny 2 different people at my party described it as "See's candy truffle in a dish." This was said at two different times by two different people. This is a very rich, thick grown up pudding. Even my husband likes it, and he's not a real pudding person. Thanks so much Chef John. Ya got a winner here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I can't stop eating this dessert! I have made it 3 times and the only change I make is that I add a little extra instant coffee. This dessert goes great with raspberry vodka and other strong liquors (in very small amounts - usually a few drops per serving). The longer you keep this in the fridge the more the chocolate will clump together and harden - but I like it better that way. Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
WOW. I read the reviews and considering I won't attempt any dessert unless it receives a majority of rave reviews because I don't want to waste my time making something that's just okay, I am thoroughly impressed. Chef John knows his Pot de Creme. Followed recipe exactly. Used Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate. Tried first serving (husband and I split it) after 4.5 hours of set time. It was terrific and I thought it was set enough. Just ate a whole one on my own after it set in the fridge for 20 hours and it was the best Pot De Creme I've ever had, upscale restaurants and bakeries included! The consistency was dreamy - so pretty - and the flavor perfection. This was completely unadorned too, no whipped cream or garnish. Cannot wait to makes these for friends coming over for holiday wine and dessert next week! Thank you, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Since having this in September, this is our 'go to' dessert recipe. We leave out the coffee. Since we always make at least double the recipe, we cut up the chocolate in the food processor. One hint, the cream has to be almost boiling or it doesn't set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Wow. What can I say. I don 't even eat dessert ever!!! But I certainly ate this one. So very easy to make. The prep time and cook times are right on the money. I used Lindt 70% chocolate and it was perfect. Thank you Chef John this is about the fourth or fifth recipe of yours that I have tried and they are all excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by Hanniuska
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Instead of 70% chocolate, I used 85% and left out the whip cream as garnish and instead used more chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanniuska

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Fabulous recipe!!!! With its great taste and easy preparation, it will certainly become part of my "fancy" dessert collection. I can't wait to try some variations like orange zest, fresh raspberries, etc. I served it with the recommended lightly whipped cream and chocolate shavings, along with homemade chocolate biscotti that we used as spoons - YUM! Word of warning, though: as written, this recipe definitely makes 4 servings - I split it between two small dessert bowls instead of four espresso cups and it was waaaaay too much to eat in one sitting. I would also *strongly* recommend that you use really good quality chocolate. When a recipe has only a few ingredients, it is absolutely essential that you don't skimp when stocking them or the finished product isn't going to be as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States