Ultimate Chocolate Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by COOKYKAMP2
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Absolutely decadent! Truffles on a spoon! I topped mine with some grated white chocolate. Follow the instructions to a T and you won't have grainy chocolate or have it fail to set up. Don't over heat the cream, just to under a boil, stir constantly to dissolve the sugar, pour it over the chocolate, let sit for the full minute and whisk, whisk, whisk, until it starts to get a little thick. I put mine on the upper shelf in my fridge (the coldest part) and it was perfectly set in the four hours stated. Do use good quality chocolate, I used Lindt 70%. I also used Splenda instead of sugar. Wonderful results. Making this again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Oooh my...this is extremely delicious. I used Lyndt 70% cocoa. I chopped the chocolate in a small chopper. Put the cream into a small sauce pan, added the chocolate, decafe coffee, sugar vanilla and salt. Brought to a simmer whisking till smooth, poured into 4 small bowls. It set up nicely in fridge. Since there is only going to be 3 of us for dinner, I just had to taste, right? Oh soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie-0-Toole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
In my little town, the only chocolate I can buy is Bakers 54%. Maybe this is why my desert didn't come out. Consistency and texture is fine, the taste is just too bitter. I did put the sweetened cream on top too. I'm going to try this again, but will add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This exquisite recipe cannot possibly be any easier to make than it is. I was thoroughly impressed with the end result. No need to modify in any way to achieve perfection. Would not hesitate to serve to guests over for dinner. Be sure to use a nice sharp knife when chopping your chocolate into chards or you'll end up with a very fatigued hand. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This recipe is simple and really good! My wife loves sweet heavenly treat! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made this twice. First time I used Mexican chocolate and milk chocolate, it's all I had in my pantry, I was too excited to wait to try it. :-) of course not using the right percentage of chocolate, the pudding did not set all the way. So I took it out of the fridge and put it in the freezer! Best decision I made. I actually turned the failed pudding into Mexican Chocolate ice cream!! Oh my goodness! Soooo YUM! Second attempt was better, I used 72% dark caco, Mexican chocolate & paprika. Mmmmmm.....?? Super Bon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Lommel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made for Valentines Day. Very good and chocolatey. I followed recipe exactly. I will be making it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
My husband just told me this may be the best dessert I've ever served him. I agree. It was decadent and very easy to prepare. I made it exactly as written, using 70% cocoa. There are a number of variations I might try another time. I think some Cayenne would be a nice touch or a splash of a liquor such as Grand Marnier, Kahlua or Chambord might be nice. Another touch of individuality would be the dish you use. I had four little Chinese tea cups and they were the perfect size. You could also use a stemmed liquor glass or come up with an idea of your own. Play with it. My next dinner party will certainly include this divine dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Oh my! I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was great! The most refined person I know commented, "I could just lick this cup clean!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made this for my family for Valentine's Day. It wasn't exactly a disaster, but it wasn't very good either. One cup of heavy cream was way too much, and four ounces of chocolate was definitely not enough. It was better after I added another four ounces of chocolate and tried to mimic my truffle recipe. But even after that, there was still too much heavy cream... not enough chocolate flavor for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States