Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and these were very bitter and salty. I only cooked part of the batch. The rest is in the refrigerator. I'm trying to look for a way that I can salvage the rest of the dough. I may add some white sugar or peanut butter. I'd hate to throw the rest of the dough away since I bought the Crisco sticks especially for this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchotrani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was a good cookie - but I like the recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag better. Also, I use the milk chocolate chips and use walnuts, not pecans. And, as much as I love CC cookies, for Christmas i like to do special recipes that I don't make very often, makes it a little more festive and meaningful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I'm sorry to all the people that liked this recipe, but I did not care for this chocolate chip recipe. They have a funny bitter taste that can only come from the crisco I think. There are much better recipes out there.....keep on looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Sadly, we didn't care for these. They baked up flatter than I like & the flavor just didn't impress. They were very greasy:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great taste, but a bit thin. These were highly temperamental. I overcooked the first batch even at 8 min. Then I took the temp down to 350. Then watched them like a hawk, checking every minute after 5 and they were done in 9 (so I was able to test the flavor and chewiness with one good batch). The next ones overcooked at 7 min with the oven down to 325. Too much hassle, they aren't THAT good. I have a better chocolate chip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I think you need more flour. I used butter instead of shortening. They taste really great and every loves them, but I have NEVER EVER been able to get them to look like the ones in the crisco picture =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zyanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These really are fantastic, but if you use the 3/4 stick of butter and increase the flour like S. Johnson recommends, be prepared for a very thick dough. I shaped by hand and had to work the chocolate chips in. I made some with walnuts and others with Reese's peanut butter chips in addition to the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Great Recipe! I used butter instead of shortening and added a cup of oatmeal. Love the vanilla flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made these last weeked for myself, my boyfriend and coworkers. I did them two ways. One batch with peanut butter chips, chocolate chips and chocalte chunks. Next batch walnuts, chocolate chips and chunks. EXCELLENT! I baked them for about 10 mins per cookie sheet and they came out a nice coloring and soft. Next time I will take a pic. Only modification was to do half white and half brown for the sugar. Wasn't too sweet; just right. People at work ate them up and boyfriend got mad I brought some into work. LOL! I make big cookies so I got about 16 out of each batch. :) Thank you Crisco for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J'sHomeSousChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made two batches of these today. I did them both as the bar cookie variation. They took a little longer than the recipe stated but they are fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States