Ultimate Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Here's what I did to make this into a FIVE-STAR FAMILY FAVORITE: Substitute ham with 1# Roll Jimmy Dean Hot Pork Sausage brown with Onion and also add small Green Pepper. Layer hashbrowns first. Increase eggs to 8, beat with a little milk, salt & pepper and pour over hashbrowns. Mix Cream of MUSHROOM soup (not chicken soup), with ONLY 8 oz of sour cream also adding a little milk (approx 1/4 cup). Add the browned sausage mixture along with approx 1/2 cup cheese and layer this mixture over Hashbrown and Eggs. Cook 30 minutes. Omit butter entirely but add approx 1/4 cup cheese to top then return to oven for 15 minutes. Let set approx 10 minutes to meld prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by ANND66
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Great, always get compliments! I made the following changes: -8 oz of sour cream -2 cups of cheddar cheese -2 packages of brown and serve sausage -country style hash browns -5-6 eggs -one sleeve of ritz crackers mixed with 1/4 cup of melted butter and sprinkled on top of casserole for a nice crust ****if you make the night b4, refrig. and add ritz/butter combo right before you put in oven****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANND66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
The taste of this casserole reminds me so much of Cracker Barrel's hashbrown casserole. If you like that, then you will love this. It is fabulous by the original recipe alone, but next time I may try adding green pepper and fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was good. I did make some alterations. I cooked the potatoes with onions and green pepper first. Then, I cooked regular hash browns and put salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese. Then I mixed fat free sour cream, fat free cream of mushroom, and substituted eggsbeaters southern for the eggs. And it turned out good. Next time, I think I will season the potatoes a little more. I hope this helped for people who wanted a less fat version of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was a very good one. We are from New Mexico, so we put green chile in everything we eat, that was the only change I made. I will start making this at night, when the kids go back to school so they have it in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I did not change anything...except I was going to substitute turkey ham, but I forgot the ham all together. It was very filling, but for all the time I put into it I was not very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used sausage instead of ham. I made this for a large group and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I will use this again, but with these changes: 6 eggs...half the sour cream...no butter...Potatoes O'Brien (onions and peppers added) and PREBROWN THEM for much more taste. I was pressed for time, so I sprinkled the potatoes generously with instant minced onion, and I just may do that again. I prepared with all the above changes, except I wished I prebrowned the potatoes; they were just blah. I also mixed the eggs into the soup mixture...too nervous to put them on the bottom! A generous pinch of cayenne would brighten it up too =) Made this along with Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole (see my Jan.18 review), and this went first with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was very good. I did tweak it a little though. I cut the sour cream by about 1/2 cup, used cream of potato soup, added 1/3 cup cream cheese, some cilantro and finely chopped jalapeno and doubled the eggs. I sauteed the onion and 1/4 cup yellow bell pepper in 1 tbsp. butter and mixed it all together instead of putting the eggs on the bottom. Also I sprinkled with sharp cheddar cheese instead of drizzling butter over the top. Next time I may try pepper jack cheese. I served it with fresh salsa for a western flair and it was fantastic. Since the recipe made more than I needed, I placed it in two 9x9 pans, baked one and put one in the freezer. I agree with others that you could use sausage or bacon. Good recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States