Ultimate Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
So easy to make and everone loves it. You will get asked for the recipe everytime. The only changes I made were added more cheese, more eggs and for a little extra something I put crushed frosted flakes mixed with melted butter over the top just like the dinner version calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DairyQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I found this recipe last week and have already made it twice. I changed a few things to make it lowfat, I replaced some of the ingredients with healthy choice cream of mushroom, lowfat sour cream, egg beaters, a lb of venison sausage, low fat cheese, and no butter. It came out terrific! The rest I kept the same. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this with hot sausage instead of ham and I used cream of mushroom soup instead of chicken. It was delicious! My family raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
For this one you really do need to mix the ingredients in a separate large bowl first (including the eggs) then pour it in. Also I listened to others and did more eggs, and less sour cream. The result wasn't great. I'd still do more eggs and the same amount of sour cream as suggested. Also make sure you cut the onions up small. Overall this was just okay, I didn't love it and it took a long time to make/bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I liked this recipe but it needs some altercations for my taste, and my kids didnt seem to care for it at all. I pretty much followed all the directions. The only difference is that I used Potatoes O Brien instead of shredded hashbrowns. I think the texture is what I didnt like with the O Brien potatoes. Next time I will try shredded hashbrowns (definitely brown them first), ground pork and bacon instead of ham and layer the dish differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grill Daddy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Here's what I did to make this into a FIVE-STAR FAMILY FAVORITE: Substitute ham with 1# Roll Jimmy Dean Hot Pork Sausage brown with Onion and also add small Green Pepper. Layer hashbrowns first. Increase eggs to 8, beat with a little milk, salt & pepper and pour over hashbrowns. Mix Cream of MUSHROOM soup (not chicken soup), with ONLY 8 oz of sour cream also adding a little milk (approx 1/4 cup). Add the browned sausage mixture along with approx 1/2 cup cheese and layer this mixture over Hashbrown and Eggs. Cook 30 minutes. Omit butter entirely but add approx 1/4 cup cheese to top then return to oven for 15 minutes. Let set approx 10 minutes to meld prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by ANND66
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Great, always get compliments! I made the following changes: -8 oz of sour cream -2 cups of cheddar cheese -2 packages of brown and serve sausage -country style hash browns -5-6 eggs -one sleeve of ritz crackers mixed with 1/4 cup of melted butter and sprinkled on top of casserole for a nice crust ****if you make the night b4, refrig. and add ritz/butter combo right before you put in oven****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANND66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
The taste of this casserole reminds me so much of Cracker Barrel's hashbrown casserole. If you like that, then you will love this. It is fabulous by the original recipe alone, but next time I may try adding green pepper and fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was good. I did make some alterations. I cooked the potatoes with onions and green pepper first. Then, I cooked regular hash browns and put salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese. Then I mixed fat free sour cream, fat free cream of mushroom, and substituted eggsbeaters southern for the eggs. And it turned out good. Next time, I think I will season the potatoes a little more. I hope this helped for people who wanted a less fat version of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was a very good one. We are from New Mexico, so we put green chile in everything we eat, that was the only change I made. I will start making this at night, when the kids go back to school so they have it in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States