Ultimate Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was great, better than i expected since im not an egg person. My husband was fighting this all the way he was headed to chickfila till he realized it was too late for their breakfast! He however decided that this is the best way to have eggs and the only way they should be cooked from now on! lol. I used about 8 eggs,(they were bantam eggs though) 1/2 cup of mozerela(msp) and a pinch of chedder(since that was what was left from spegheti and taco night) 1 ham steak diced up 1/4 of onion 1 large potato wich i pelled and then used the veggie peeler to slice up. 2TBS of sour cream(this was something i didnt know went in egg casserole and this was all that was left from taco night) I added turkey bacon wich i diced and browned up b4. i personaly wouldnt leave this out. I did use the cream of chicken and love it, the only thing i would consider using instead is mabye cream of potato, (or brocceli if i was adding some spinach and peppers). Liberal amounts of black and white peppers, garlic salt with parsely, and a smoky sesoning blend. Over all im glad i looked up a recipe b4 trying to through 1 together and i belive the way i cooked it it came out great! I baked it for 30mins. Then added about tbs of melted butter on top then i put on the convection seting and baked it another 15 mins. Let it stand about 8 b4 cutting into it and it was perfect crunchy top just slightly loser then custard texture. Amazeing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Tasty, but too much like a general potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I did cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was an awesome recipe, I made a few modifications, 6 eggs, added a combination of steak, bacon & ham to equal 2 cups and used pizza blend cheese and additional cheese on top after I took it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Add a ton more pepper if prefer more flavor. Definitely comfort food or good hangover recovery breakfast. To give you an idea, I made these while some friends were crashed out on a sleeper sofa in the next room. I took it out of the oven, left it on the counter to cool and went back to bed. When I got back up, both of them were hunched over it, eating it right out of the pan with spoons, and groaning with pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is not a 4.5 star recipe...I wish it was because I wanted it to be great...it just missed the mark. I tried the recipe just as described and received mediocre reviews. My boyfriend barely ate one small helping and he always has seconds of everything that I cook. It was very bland and the sour cream didn't seem to help with the unappealing flavor. The concept of this receipe is great...but it needs considerable work. Some spices would definitely help and less sour cream would be recommended. I would suggest also adding an onion soup mix to the mixture for extra flavor or garlic powder. 3/4 a cup of cheese is also not nearly enough for this size casserole. I would increase to 1 cup in the mixture as well as at least a 1/2 cup on top. Also a 30 minute cook time is not long enough...the potatoes will not be soft. I cooked mine for 50 minutes before they were soft enough and had to cover the dish about half way through to keep from getting too brown on top. I will try this again but with various changes...I do not recommend this recipe the way it was written. Make your own variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennRT929

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was fantastic! A few changes...I used a package of turkey bacon instead of ham. I chopped it up and cooked it in a pan. I added the chopped onion and some chopped pepper to the bacon and cooked for a few minutes. I also didn't use a whole 2 lbs of the hash browns but probably 1 2/3 of the 2 lb bag. And I didn't have cream of mushroom so I used cream of potato. I also added 1/4 cup fat free half and half. It was so yummy! Everyone loved it...even my super picky husband! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Good but a bit on the bland side, nothing a little hot sauce won't cure. I pretty much followed the mods from other reviewers, less sour cream, more eggs and cheese, poured the egg mixture over the potatoes and ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
It was ok, seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States