Ultimate All in One Chicken Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
GREAT RECIPE WITH A A COUPLE OF CHANGES THAT YOU REALLY DO NOT HAVE TO DO. IT IS FINE JUST THE WAY IT IS. I DID USE LESS OF THE CHICKEN BROTH, BUT ADDED WHITE WINE (A GOOD HALF A CUP ). I USED RED POTATOES. I DID WHAT ANOTHER REVIEWER SAID AND RUBBED THE SEASONINGS ONTO THE CHICKEN , BEFORE BROWNING. AFTER PLACING EVERYTHING BACK INTO THE PAN, I ADDED OLD BAY SEASONING. I HAD SOME FROZEN GREEN BEANS , THAT WE HAD THE NIGHT BEFORE, SO I USED THEM IN PLACE OF CANNED (DO NOT USED CANNED VEGEIES). THIS RECIPE WILL ACCEPT OTHER KINDS OF VEGIES,USE YOUR IMAGINATION (CARROTS,ARTICHOKE HEARTS...EVEN OLIVES).WHEN MY HUSBAND COMPLIMENTS A MEAL, YOU KNOW THAT IT IS GOOD...AND HE DID !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I've made this several times and it is an easy, one pot meal. It's also one of those great recipes that's better leftover and since it makes a lot we always have the next day's lunch ready to go. I usually have prepped frozen onion and green peppers, as well as prepackaged frozen potato dices (2 lb. size)so it's even faster if there's no prep time. I think it is a little bland but it is a simple matter to increase the seasonings to your taste. It's definitely in my regular menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
i made this tonight and i must say it was awesome!! i used wax beans with the green to jazz it up a bit and added chopped red bell for color. i will pass this one on and make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neurosis44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Awesome! only i changed a few things; we hate mushrooms so i nixed those, substituted veg oil for olive oil, margarine for more olive oil, used only half the onion thinly sliced, bell peppers thinly sliced, celery thinly sliced, potatoes not cubed but sliced into quarter inch ovals, we did not add the chicken into the dish (instead i cooked the potatoes in the oil with the onions and celery and bells and added minced garlic), nor did we add green beans, we did add fresh broccolli after the potatoes were almost done, also sub chicken broth for veg and topped with cheese to make this an amazing vegitarian side dish~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bottlednap

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Very hearty and tasty meal. I have always like one dish meals, and this is a keeper. Very good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I believe if you are going to rate a recipe you need to make THE recipe. That said I made this exactly as stated with the exception of the mushrooms (alergic). It was fairly to very good as written. However, the next time I make it I would change the following: probably 1/2 of the cayenne pepper as it was pretty spicy. Since the spices go in last the vegetables were highly seasoned and the chicken was just plain chicken so I will try rubbing the spices on the chicken before browning to spice it up a bit and tone down the veggies at the same time. Finally, it may just be the temp. I cooked at but there was LOTS of liquid left when everything else was cooked so I will try cutting the amount in 1/2 and see how that works. All in all a great recipe that just needs tweaked slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Overall very good. Next time I will try half of the liquid since it was very soupy and less cayene when making for my family because it was too spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Really simple, easy and delicious recipe! I had no chicken breast so substituted it with minced beef which was all I had in my fridge and also added leeks instead of celery, used fresh beans instead of canned ones and also added carrots for some color. The end result was very satisfying (we ate it with mixed grain rice)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I wouldn't call it the ultimate, but I do appreicate the recipe. I made a few adjustments after reading the reviews and it came out perfect for me. I chopped the chicken and brown and I also sauteed the vegetables and took it off the heat. I brought my potatoes to a boil in beef broth(the recommended amount). When it started to boil, I added all the seasonings and let it boil for 10 minutes uncovered). Then I added the chicken and the veggies stirred, brought to a boil, then covered and simmered for 20 minutes. This should work. It was like stew instead of watery. Since the liquid had a chance to evaporate when boiling the potatoes. I hope that this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I didn't have a pepper, so substituted with a few carrots. I wouldn't call it an Ultimate Chicken dinner. It's more of a chicken veggie stew. Served mine with rice. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTerrian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States