Uli's Apple Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by aputler
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This is Authentic and Awesome! My parents emigrated from Germany in 1955 and I grew up with my Mothers version of this same recipe. Don’t be surprised if it takes a bit longer to soften up. Mine usually takes about one and a quarter hours on a low simmer. Sehr gut. Machen Sie es!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great recipe, very authentic. I like to take a whole small onion and stick the cloves in the onion. You will have the flavor of both without having to fish for the cloves to remove them when finished cooking. Sehr lecker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
An experienced cook with German food I am not, but the way this turned out you’d sure think I was. Pleasantly spiced, neither too sweet nor too tangy, this was the piece de resistance of our German dinner. I served this with Jaeger Schnitzel, recipe also from this site, and spaetzle. Hubs said if he closed his eyes he’d think he was in a German restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I made this recipe the other day after having bought a big red cabbage at a farm. I knew I wanted to try making this but I kept procrastinating. I wasn't sure, looking at the ingredients, that my family would like it. Well, it was a pleasant surprise indeed. We all loved it! Will be making it again often. Thank you so much Uli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tory Roseq

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Viel Dank for posting !!!!! It's nice to have the proper ingredients / ratio for this awesome dish. This recipe is as authentic as it gets. The only thing that I would omit is the bacon. My German mom never cooked it with bacon. It tastes great without it. If apples are not available, sugar can be an acceptable substitute. Add it to your taste. This dish is a wonderful balance of slight sweet and subtle sour. Mom never used wine as well, but it does sound like an interesting and additional ingredient for a potential savory flavor. My biggest suggestion is to make this with some spaetzle and rouladen, and you will absolutely have heaven on a plate. It is by far one of my all time favorite meals! It's the definition of comfort food in a major way. :o) !!!! ausgezeichnet !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My husband and I love this recipe and he asks me to make to often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is one of those recipes that everyone should have or at least know about. I had some cabbage and apples I wanted to use and came across this recipe. I had everything on hand so why not? Today was the first time in the 21 years I've been with my husband that he ate the veggies before the meat and then ate more veggies with the meat. Awesome. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Wonderful recipe as is. However my husband and I decided we like it a bit stronger so we doubled the spices (not sugar) and it was fantastic....even better serving next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
OK, but overall too bland for me. I am away from home and relying on the Internet, otherwise I would use my old recipe, which has much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States