Ukrainian Sweet and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
My Uncle remembered a cabbage soup his immigrant mother made as a child. All he told me was it had rasins and prunes and short ribs in it. I used Holly's rescipe as a base, and I boiled 1 pound of short ribs in 2 quarts water to make the stock, leaving the meat in the pot. I also added 1/3 cup prunes and 2 heaping tablespoons of freash grated ginger to the pot about 30 minutes before serving. Rave reviews from my uncle and my husband! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I've made this soup twice now with great results. Served with fresh-baked bread (try the "Honey Wheat II" recipe on this site) and sour cream, it's a big hit for cold nights. My Ukrainian-born husband raves about it and loves the sweet-sour zing. He's a little picky and usually turns his nose up at my attempts at Ukrainian fare, but this was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
I love this delicious soup; I put in 1/4C vinegar (instead of 1/2C) and use golden raisins. Sometimes I put in a slightly spicey sausage, sliced chunks: I boil sausage pieces in soup for a few minutes at the end before serving. Lovely next day...seems that flavors blend more after reheating. Don't skip the celery seed...adds to the unique flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This cabbage was unbelievably good. It reminds me of the soup my mother used to make, before she stated to control sweetenning in her recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe has become a favorite for me. A perfect recipe for the busy single (like me.) It's so easy and cheap without a lot of ingredients, yet so tasty! I love the vinegar flavor and follow the recipe exactly, but if you don't like such a strong vinegar flavor it's easy to play with the ratios of sugar or apple butter to vinegar. I sometimes add cranberries too. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I added 1 lb. Keilbasa to the soup and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2000
we, my family, truly enjoyed this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great sweet and sour flavor. The recipe as is yielded soup that looked just like the picture (more cabbage than soup). I added another quart of broth to get it to the consistence I liked. Then I had to add a little more vinegar and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
good recipe....i will cut down on the vinegar and add some cooked beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2000
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States