Ukrainian Sweet and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
First time making a red cabbage soup, and it was very good. I did cut back on the vinegar to 1/4 cup (per some recommendations), and it was just tangy enough for me. I chose not to add the raisins. I didn't have apple butter on hand, so in it's place I used apple sauce to which I added a few pinches of cinnamon and cloves. Dark rye bread went well with the soup. It's like an old world recipe. Thanks MARBALET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
this tasted very good and was reminiscent of the pickled red cabbage you get in the glass jars in the store. I forgot the apple butter but after looking up ingredients in homemade, realized basically everything I had in the pot was an ingredient in apple butter except for the ground clove so added a touch of it. I agree that the addition of the celery seed and the apple butter(or clove, if you don't have apple butter) is essential to give this a bit of depth and complexity. I honestly prefer this as a thicker soup with not a lot of broth and would actually even eat the cabbage portion of the soup cold as a relish or cold salad side dish. thanks for this easy recipe. was nice to have something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I didn't have apples on hand so I left that out, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Both I and the hubby liked it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I thought this soup was really great! I had to make a few adjustments because one of the people I was making it for is a vegetarian. I used vegetable stock (I don't think it changed the taste much at all) instead of beef stock and I reduced the vinegar down to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2 cup. I was surprised by how much the soup did thicken up, so in the future I think I may add a little bit more stock or some water just to make it more soupy. I was also thinking about adding a little more apple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
oops ... meant to review a different cabbage soup recipe - Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup! I'm sure this is wonderful too, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great sweet and sour flavor. The recipe as is yielded soup that looked just like the picture (more cabbage than soup). I added another quart of broth to get it to the consistence I liked. Then I had to add a little more vinegar and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe has become a favorite for me. A perfect recipe for the busy single (like me.) It's so easy and cheap without a lot of ingredients, yet so tasty! I love the vinegar flavor and follow the recipe exactly, but if you don't like such a strong vinegar flavor it's easy to play with the ratios of sugar or apple butter to vinegar. I sometimes add cranberries too. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheyenne Schweikert
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This soup is absolutely delicious. A wonderful blend of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
The concept is great, but even after cutting the vinegar in half, the soup was still way to sour for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
good recipe....i will cut down on the vinegar and add some cooked beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States