Ukrainian Sweet and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
First time making a red cabbage soup, and it was very good. I did cut back on the vinegar to 1/4 cup (per some recommendations), and it was just tangy enough for me. I chose not to add the raisins. I didn't have apple butter on hand, so in it's place I used apple sauce to which I added a few pinches of cinnamon and cloves. Dark rye bread went well with the soup. It's like an old world recipe. Thanks MARBALET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
this tasted very good and was reminiscent of the pickled red cabbage you get in the glass jars in the store. I forgot the apple butter but after looking up ingredients in homemade, realized basically everything I had in the pot was an ingredient in apple butter except for the ground clove so added a touch of it. I agree that the addition of the celery seed and the apple butter(or clove, if you don't have apple butter) is essential to give this a bit of depth and complexity. I honestly prefer this as a thicker soup with not a lot of broth and would actually even eat the cabbage portion of the soup cold as a relish or cold salad side dish. thanks for this easy recipe. was nice to have something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I didn't have apples on hand so I left that out, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Both I and the hubby liked it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I thought this soup was really great! I had to make a few adjustments because one of the people I was making it for is a vegetarian. I used vegetable stock (I don't think it changed the taste much at all) instead of beef stock and I reduced the vinegar down to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2 cup. I was surprised by how much the soup did thicken up, so in the future I think I may add a little bit more stock or some water just to make it more soupy. I was also thinking about adding a little more apple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
oops ... meant to review a different cabbage soup recipe - Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup! I'm sure this is wonderful too, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great sweet and sour flavor. The recipe as is yielded soup that looked just like the picture (more cabbage than soup). I added another quart of broth to get it to the consistence I liked. Then I had to add a little more vinegar and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe has become a favorite for me. A perfect recipe for the busy single (like me.) It's so easy and cheap without a lot of ingredients, yet so tasty! I love the vinegar flavor and follow the recipe exactly, but if you don't like such a strong vinegar flavor it's easy to play with the ratios of sugar or apple butter to vinegar. I sometimes add cranberries too. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheyenne Schweikert
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This soup is absolutely delicious. A wonderful blend of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
The concept is great, but even after cutting the vinegar in half, the soup was still way to sour for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
good recipe....i will cut down on the vinegar and add some cooked beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States