Ukrainian Sweet and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I didn't have apples on hand so I left that out, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Both I and the hubby liked it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I thought this soup was really great! I had to make a few adjustments because one of the people I was making it for is a vegetarian. I used vegetable stock (I don't think it changed the taste much at all) instead of beef stock and I reduced the vinegar down to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2 cup. I was surprised by how much the soup did thicken up, so in the future I think I may add a little bit more stock or some water just to make it more soupy. I was also thinking about adding a little more apple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
oops ... meant to review a different cabbage soup recipe - Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup! I'm sure this is wonderful too, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great sweet and sour flavor. The recipe as is yielded soup that looked just like the picture (more cabbage than soup). I added another quart of broth to get it to the consistence I liked. Then I had to add a little more vinegar and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe has become a favorite for me. A perfect recipe for the busy single (like me.) It's so easy and cheap without a lot of ingredients, yet so tasty! I love the vinegar flavor and follow the recipe exactly, but if you don't like such a strong vinegar flavor it's easy to play with the ratios of sugar or apple butter to vinegar. I sometimes add cranberries too. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheyenne Schweikert
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This soup is absolutely delicious. A wonderful blend of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
The concept is great, but even after cutting the vinegar in half, the soup was still way to sour for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
good recipe....i will cut down on the vinegar and add some cooked beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I added 1 lb. Keilbasa to the soup and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
My Uncle remembered a cabbage soup his immigrant mother made as a child. All he told me was it had rasins and prunes and short ribs in it. I used Holly's rescipe as a base, and I boiled 1 pound of short ribs in 2 quarts water to make the stock, leaving the meat in the pot. I also added 1/3 cup prunes and 2 heaping tablespoons of freash grated ginger to the pot about 30 minutes before serving. Rave reviews from my uncle and my husband! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States