Ukrainian Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
A bit heavy with the sausage & eggs, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Really liked this recipe...mainly because I am a huge fan of smoked sausage and anything with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I'm from Ukraine and I make the cream differently. Mayo instead of butter. Also the shredd the egg so there's no chunks. You can also sprinkle with Mexican blend cheese instead of egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
These were tasty - I used the suggestion from others to toast the bread and brown my meat (used smoked turkey sausage) and let cool before spreading the cheese mixture. Next time I will halve the butter and add the egg - didn't have any on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Mmm. This is very good! I used kielbasa sausage and followed the recipe exactly except slightly toasted the bread. It was nice and fresh tasting. Good for a nice warm day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Outstanding recipe! Super delicious! I used deli roast beef in place of sausage and sliced the hard-boiled egg instead of chopping it to keep it from falling off the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Really good accompanied with soup and salad for a light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was good...but not great. It tasted like your basic sandwich. I was disapointed as I had expected so much more. The only change I made was to serve it on sandwich bread and not french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I found this recipe to be quite good, but there are a few things I would recommend when making them next time. Use a ciabatta loaf or slice larger pieces of french bread. Be sure to slice the tomato, sausage, cucumber very thinly otherwise you'll have problems getting it all in your mouth! Also, I think I would like to use more garlic (I love the flavor of garlic) and let it sit in the cream cheese/butter mixture for an hour or two so they take on more of the garlic flavor. This is a great sandwich though and I loved how unique it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I first tried them when looking up Ukranian recipes for an exchange student we had visiting, I was trying to make her feel more at home. She and the whole family enjoyed them and I have since taken them to many different potluck's. I always use kielbasa of some sort and omit the tomatoes and eggs, which I don't think are necessary if you are in a hurry. To make as more of an appetizer instead of a meal get a thinner loaf of crusty french bread and layer with cheese-butter mixture and only 1 slice each of kielbasa and cucumber. Also, I double the cream cheese butter mixture sometimes and use it as a spread for hot bread out of the oven for dinner the following nights. My family and friends LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States