Ukrainian Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
So good and easy! My husband I just recently moved to Ukraine and found this recipe as I was looking for Ukrainian recipes. I couldn't find cream cheese in the market (kind of hard when you don't speak the language), but used some kind of cheese spread that worked wonderfully. For the meat, i used salami. I also added fresh dill to the spread which added extra flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
AMAZING SANDWHICH!!!! I've made this several times for not only my family but for friends as well and it is ALWAYS a huge hit... even with my 11yo daughter. Totally authentic and delicious... highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
We tried these because my fella is working on a project about the Ukraine, and I'm glad we did! Super-yummy and super-easy. I used turkey kielbasa, sliced lengthwise and browned in a pan, and we skipped the hard-boiled eggs (mostly because I forgot about them). We did this twice, once with cold (but browned) kielbasa and once with the sausage right out of the pan; I'd recommend using it cold, otherwise it melts the cream cheese mixture and you end up with an incredibly messy sandwich. We loved the cream cheese mixture, although I think next time I might just mix the garlic with cream cheese, and see if it's as good without the extra fat from the butter. All in all - great combination! Thanks! EDIT: Made again, skipping the butter but including the hard-boiled eggs. I think skipping the butter did make the garlic spread slightly less awesome - it doesn't spread as smoothly, and obviously tastes more strongly of cream cheese - but it's still pretty darn good. If you're not totally averse to eggs, definitely take the time to do those. Adds a nice creaminess to the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is a little fattening, but worth it. I feed it to my husband for a quick luch. I buy breakfast sausage and freeze in small portions. My husband raves about this sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I grew up on these. Although we made ours with rye bread and thin sliced ham. Also adding a dash of paprika to the cream cheese butter mixture adds some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Really easy and good. I LOVED the butter mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahS
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I love these sandwiches! I served them on sliced ciabatta instead of french bread... I thought slices of french bread would be too small to hold all the toppings so I chose the ciabatta since it was a little bit of a bigger loaf. Also, I used kielbasa which is a Ukrainian/Polish sausage and I highly recommend it. these are SO european, I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I made these to go with soup and the family loved them. I did add a little more garlic because we are big garlic fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
These were excellent. My family loved them and they were gone in one day. They are really easy to make and are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States