Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Very good soup. I served it with a homemade crusty bread. I had never tried a Borscht before, so I didn't know what to expect. The tomato base reminds me of a old fashion vegetable soup ... just different vegetables. I didn't have fresh beets on hand so I used a pint jar of canned (that I had put up earlier this summer). I just drained the liquid and added them after the cabbage so they would not cook down to a mush. I also did not have fresh garlic so I substituted garlic power. I have no doubt that fresh garlic would taste better, but sometimes you just have to work with what you have on hand. The instructions call for a "large pot". You should use at least a 6 quart stock pot. I started out with a 4 quart and had to transfer to a larger one. I will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yanceyville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
My family and I lived in Russia for 3 1/2 years, and I have looked for a borscht recipe that was the same as we had there. This one was perfect! I've never had borscht with meat in it, so I made it vegetarian. This was the real thing - especially with the sourcream, or "smeatana" on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This dish is simple enough to make (my first soup attempt ever, and it went off without a hitch), and has an awesome old world, authentic kind of taste to it. The sausage addition makes for a hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth Amboy, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Matawan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I loved this recipe, it turned out perfect ! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This is a great recipe. I have never cooked with beets. I put them in the food processor because it was very difficult to shred them. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I really enjoyed this borscht. The only thing I had to adjust was the amount of liquid. The recipe calls for 2quarts and then 3/4c of water. I found the soup was too thick (I really like broth). At the end I added fresh dill and a dollop of sour cream in each bowl. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Really enjoyed this soup - so wonderful with all the yummy fresh veg. I do agree with a previous reviewer, however, who thought it would have been better with more broth as it was quite thick. Despite that though, the soup is delicious and I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was my first time eating Borscht and it was very good! I got beets from the produce section but think I will used canned, diced beets next time. Maybe it's my location, or maybe they are out of season, but it was $1.30 for 4 small beets. Oh, I diced everything but next time will add the potatoes about the same time as I do the cabbage so they don't overcook and "disappear". Thanks for the recipe, and helping me expand my menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HJCARY
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
My husband loved this. He said if it were to be improved in any way it would be to add a grain like rice or barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJCARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Very Good! I followed the recipe except for the following...used 1 qt. beef stock with 1 qt. water and fresh diced tomatoes instead of canned. My 2 year old even gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States