Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
My grandma, who has an aversion towards beets, loved this. I also added lots of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Bolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I ate borscht at a Ukrainian restaurant in NYC and loved it! Finally got around to trying it myself. After reading some of the reviews, I opted for vegetarian borscht. I left out the tomato paste entirely and just added a whole can of the diced tomatoes. I used 4 beets, shredded 2 of them and cut 2 of them in thin sticks. I added 1 quart of beef broth instead of water, some red wine and also lemon concentrate at the end because I felt it had to be tangier (I really like marinated baby beets). The dill is really working wonders for this soup, I used lots of it. All in all, an easy recipe to follow and I love how it came out. I think next time I may try to add one jar of the marinated beets and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Wow, really impressive. that was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Loved this! Did not add meat. I baked the beets rather than boil them, then peeled them prior to putting in the pot. I added a little veggie broth for flavoring. It is so yummy! Will definitely make this again. Probably will try putting cabbage and carrots in the food processor as hand grating was messy and time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I have done an amazing, traditional, non-meat borscht before and I found this one lacking in flavour, to be honest. I had to add quite a bit to it: chicken stock, lots of dill, lots of S&P. Wish I could find my old recipe, actuallly! The beet taste was subdued at best. But a nice, very basic "base," in my humble opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I like this though I found it a bit bland, BUT I had to sub some of the sausage with hamburger so may have lost some taste. It needed salt! it's my first time making it though and I don't have anything to compare it to. Didn't have sour cream, either. By the way I used frozen cooked beets from the summer, just thawed them and diced them and added after the other veg were cooked. Seemed to work well. I think I would use stock instead of water to try to round out the flavor. It did make a LOT! I have about 3L in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I added lots of dill. Aside from that this is a fantastic recipe. It's good for you, it's cooked in under an hour, freezes and reheats well, and tastes great. Cook it! Eat it! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I didn't find this recipe to stand out much. The flavor is just okay. I added more salt, balsamic vinegar, and thyme to try to add some flavor, and it was good, but probably not something I'll make again... unless I just have to use up some beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren & Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Wonderful! Perhaps next time I will dice some of the beets and puree some. The shredded beet texture was a little strange but the taste made up for it by leaps and bounds! I also added a few beef bouillon cubes to round out the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was a pretty good recipe. I hadn't had borscht in a while, but it tasted like I expected it should. My modifications: boiled beets in the water I used like others suggested for about 25 minutes and then sliced instead of shredded, added two beef bullion cubes to this and some pepper. I also added to this about one tbsp of cider vinegar and probably about 2 tsp of lemon juice for a little more acidity. I threw in lots of fresh dill too, about 3 tablespoons or so. I skipped the parsley though, I bought it but forgot to use it. I used 4 beets instead of 3, skipped the tomato paste. I also added about 3/4 cup of shredded beet greens around the same time as the potatoes. Overall I was quite happy with how it turned out. If I make it again I would definitely skip the sausage. I skimmed some of the fat off the top as it was boiling, but it still ended up a little too greasy. The meat didn't really add anything to the flavor anyways, I just saw it as added protein for protein's sake. If you want protein with this just serve with cheeses on the side like I did. I'm sure that's not very traditional, but it turned out to be a great meal. Next time I make it I'll probably throw in extra bullion cubes to compensate for the lack of meat. Whatever you do, serve it with a nice dark rye bread. I baked Russian Black Bread with a recipe from Smitten Kitchen to go with it and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States