Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I added lots of dill. Aside from that this is a fantastic recipe. It's good for you, it's cooked in under an hour, freezes and reheats well, and tastes great. Cook it! Eat it! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I didn't find this recipe to stand out much. The flavor is just okay. I added more salt, balsamic vinegar, and thyme to try to add some flavor, and it was good, but probably not something I'll make again... unless I just have to use up some beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren & Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Wonderful! Perhaps next time I will dice some of the beets and puree some. The shredded beet texture was a little strange but the taste made up for it by leaps and bounds! I also added a few beef bouillon cubes to round out the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was a pretty good recipe. I hadn't had borscht in a while, but it tasted like I expected it should. My modifications: boiled beets in the water I used like others suggested for about 25 minutes and then sliced instead of shredded, added two beef bullion cubes to this and some pepper. I also added to this about one tbsp of cider vinegar and probably about 2 tsp of lemon juice for a little more acidity. I threw in lots of fresh dill too, about 3 tablespoons or so. I skipped the parsley though, I bought it but forgot to use it. I used 4 beets instead of 3, skipped the tomato paste. I also added about 3/4 cup of shredded beet greens around the same time as the potatoes. Overall I was quite happy with how it turned out. If I make it again I would definitely skip the sausage. I skimmed some of the fat off the top as it was boiling, but it still ended up a little too greasy. The meat didn't really add anything to the flavor anyways, I just saw it as added protein for protein's sake. If you want protein with this just serve with cheeses on the side like I did. I'm sure that's not very traditional, but it turned out to be a great meal. Next time I make it I'll probably throw in extra bullion cubes to compensate for the lack of meat. Whatever you do, serve it with a nice dark rye bread. I baked Russian Black Bread with a recipe from Smitten Kitchen to go with it and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Overall a good recipe. I followed the advice of another reviewer and boiled my beets for ~1hr before dicing, and then saved the water to use in the soup. I accidentally added too much water, beware because it is easy to dilute the flavor. Didn't need sugar at all! And after adding LOTS of dill and letting the soup sit in the fridge overnight, the flavor the next day was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Tastes great!!! Very good soup for a cold day. I may try adding a little more water or some chicken broth because it came out more like a stew then a soup. Great anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I have made this several times now and it is the most delicious and easy borscht I have ever had/made. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I lived in Russia for a couple of years and this is pretty close to authentic. I've never had borscht with sausage though, only ever with beef. I will probably make it with less tomato paste next time, as it was a little too tomato-y for me. Also, try it with a dollop of mayo instead of sour cream. We ate it that way in Russia all the time and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is delicious and the fact that it is loaded with nutrition is even better! I like a more chunky soup so I cubed the beets instead of shredding them, but other than that I followed the recipe to a 't'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janneke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good recipe. I used beef short ribs and added some beef broth. I grated the veggies for uniformity. No need for the sugar. I added 1 T vinegar for that very subtle sweet and sour effect. My family loved it served with fresh bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States