Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
It was good, no surprises – actually seemd a bit on the bland side to us. I grated the beets as called for. I was out of carrots so subbed diced sweet potato. Dairy allergy so left out sour cream. All in all a good comforting soup, to go to five stars it would need another herb or two. I agree with a few other comments, if you grate/shred the beets you shouldn’t cook them so long – they lose their color and that’s part of the fun of borscht – having magenta colored food! Of course, if you don’t put them in first the broth probably doesn’t get as much beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I never added the sugar and didn't salt or pepper it, and I halved the recipe. I decided to just dump in the whole can of tomato, it didn't seem to matter. It was AMAZING. Simply amazing stuff. I read a lot of recipes and decided to give this a try, since this is my first time making borscht. It was amazing, I'm posting it to FB and bringing in the extra to work to share. FYI, I don't know where they got the idea that all of this could be done in an hour. It takes me almost 2 hours from start to finish (not including the dishes and mess it makes). Still worth every moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
We made this without the sausage and it wasn't a very big hit, but I'm not sure our usual recipe is very authentic at all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I used Veggy Broth instead of the 2 quarts of water. I did not add the 3/4 cup of water. I added some basil and dill at the end and 1 Tablespoon of apple cider vinegar at the end. This is so yummy!! Perfect for the beets in our garden - this is a great recipe for that. I am going to make more of this, to freeze to have later this winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I've never had borscht before so I decided to try this, and the result? YUM!! This is a forgiving recipe. I am not a fan of sausage so I omitted that... but I think I will try it next time anyway. According to other reviews, I halved the amount of cabbage, and instead of skipping the tomato paste all together I put in half. I don't have parsley so I used dill as was suggested by other reviewers, but I only had dry and it seemed to work just fine. What a hardy soup, and so healthy! For extra nutrients, I didn't even peel the veggies I just scrubbed them and cut off nasty bits... but let me tell you, it definitely doesn't take 15 minutes prep - shredding all the carrots and beets took forever!! Otherwise, this is fantastic and I will definitely be making this a whole lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Phenomenal!! This is the best Borscht I've ever eaten and I've been to several Ukrainian restaurants. I highly recommend this one. Use the food processor for ease with shredding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this soup 5 times already and love it, so did my husband and his friend, both born and bred Russians. Please do no omit the garlic, it gives so much flavor, not sure what having been to 23 countries has to do with knowing Ukranian cuisine. My husband loved the garlic, the parsley and also absolutely add dill, lots of it. I add all three right before I turn the heat off, this way the flavors blend well, but the greens don't overcook. I agree with someone who said before, use sunflower oil, my grandmother, mother and MIL still cook with it. I used olive oil but it's not the same. I tried one with sausage - good, one vegetarian - very good, one with beans - didn't think it was great, but wasn't bad either. To save time you can shred the beets in food processor, though I dice them very finely for more kid-appeal. Also, buy the packaged Cole Slaw, saves you time and mess from chopping cabbage. About the tomatoes- I also thought it was too much, so I just halved the amount, so try it this way first and see if you'd like more or less. Serve with smetanka and hearty country bread and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I am a Peace Corps volunteer living in Ukraine so I know good borsch (borsch is originally Ukrainian, not Russian!), and this recipe is delicious! You should know that every baba (grandma) has her own recipe that her family will learn and believe to be better than all the rest--so personalize this recipe away! If it's authenticity you're looking for, use sunflower oil (not vegetable, and not grapeseed either--it's sunflower or bust around here). Also, I've never seen anyone add sugar to their recipe. A little bit of fresh dill is pretty normal too, as are white beans, if that's your thing. Finally, most Ukrainians agree with user JOCARROL: boil your beet with the skin on for 45 minutes or so to make it soft before you shred it. And remember--it's practically a sin to eat borsch without the sour cream so load it on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Love this recipe. Very hearty and reheats well. I eliminated the sausage (allergic to pork) and sugar. To me, the sugar didn't really add anything. The only other sub was that I used garlic cubes, which i had on hand, versus garlic cloves. I love and fix a lot of Russian/Ukrainian/Eastern European items and this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States