Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This soup is FANTASTIC. I too left out the sausage - I also added almost a liter of veggie stock in addition to the water called for. After my husband and I ate some in its rustic, chunky state, I decided to blend up the left overs. That's how you take something rustic and make it chic! It has an amazing smell and texture and is completely addictive as a smooth soup! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Honestly, there is no such thing as one authentic recipe...it's like indian curry, or any other national dish - you have regional variations, different recipes from family to family, and it changes seasonally to use what is to hand. It must have beets, and must have dill, is about the only rule. We liked this, as we have liked all borscht recipes, you just have to leave out what you don't like, and adjust the rest to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I had never made borscht before so I followed this recipe almost exactly as written and it was delicious! Definitely involves a lot of chopping, slicing and peeling but it was well worth it and generally a pretty easy recipe. Will definitely make again! For those interested, here are the very minor changes I made: didn't use the sausage or any meat for that matter (still delicious and very filling); added a little more water than it called for, probably close to 1.5 cups by the end; added some salt and pepper while it was simmering before the onions and tomato paste went in; I mashed the vegetables slightly at the end to thicken it/break down some of the vegetables because I prefer a thicker soup overall rather than a thin broth with chunks of vegetable. I think this recipe would probably be just as good without these changes, they were just a matter of personal taste/habit for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Well, I'm Ukrainian myself and wanted to add some suggestions to the recipe. (since it's Ukrainian dish after all, it's probably different from Russian version). Anyway, we never add any tomato paste or diced tomatoes, or sugar. It's good just with beets, cabbage, potatoes, and meat. Also I usually cook my beets, then shred. Also, for meat - you can use any kind of pork meat, don't have to have pork sausage. Also, add cabbage at the very end (make sure you "soften" it by "scrunching" up cabbage in your hands. I hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panyanka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
i made this vegetarian with less water and pureed 1/2 of the beet/carrot/potato mixture. made a less authentic but delicious thick stew -- my new favorite borscht recipe! used lots of dill and a couple tsp of apple cider vinegar instead of sugar and garlic. no tomatoes because i didn't have any. yuuuuuuum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
More tomatoey than beety, but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Great recipe! My monthly co-op farm produce box included three organic beets and a bunch of organic carrots. Borscht was the first thing I thought of. I found this recipe and was delighted. A couple of changes: No sausage - really not necessary. I also substituted a box of TJ's vegetable broth for the water and left out the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great soup! I put a lot of veggies in here - I think that it's a great base for just about any veggies. I put greek yogurt on top instead of sour cream - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
The best Borscht ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I'd never tasted borscht before making this. I don't know if it's authentic or not, but it is absolutely delicious! I wish I'd discovered this recipe years ago. I didn't have bulk sausage on hand, so I diced Polish sausage, browned it slightly, and then followed the recipe exactly. I froze the leftovers and they're equally good. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Patti. I'll be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States