Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Delicious! I used eatmedetroit's suggested changes and it turned out amazing. Pretty easy to make too, I'm a very unexperienced cook but it turned out pretty much perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe! I made it just as written and it was delicious - excellent flavor. I was pleased to see that it turned out quite thick - I remember it being a bit watery last time I had it. I served it with dill which I think is key to the flavor, and with pumpernickel bread. It makes a lot - I had quite a bit of leftovers... something to keep in mind when you are trying to figure out how to scale the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made the vegetarian version(minus sauage!) and it was just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enter710

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Really really good. I've had authentic Russian borscht before and this was fairly close. Not sure I got the seasoning quite right though... I used most of eatmedetroit's suggestions and my fiance ate 3 bowls... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I decided to try the recipe as is instead of trying to combine all of the review comments. I thought it was great! I can't claim to be a borscht expert, but my husband and I thought it was great. I doubled the recipe in a large pot and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Really great recipe. My husband and daughter took a very large pot of this to their church and served almost 50 people who were all raving about it. They loved that they had brought something unique and they had a blast serving it. We set out each serving with a dollop of sour cream and sprinkling of parsley and some crusty bread alongside. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen King Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Absolutely excellent. My modifications: Hot italian sausage instead of pork sausage chicken stock instead of water double the garlic fresh tomatoes instead of canned fresh yogurt for topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Deelicious!! My favorite cabbage soup, I make it slightly different every time but it always turns out excellent. Most authentic. Thanks Patti!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is the best soup I ever tasted!!! Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Terrific recipe Patti. This is the first season I've grown beets in my garden in Calgary, Alberta, and was trying to figure out what to do with them. I didn't change a thing except cutting back on the liquid so it became more stew than soup, but it was still mighty tasty. Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States