Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was a delicious soup! Not quite what I expected (it was more tomato-y than I remember), but very hearty and filling. Perfect for our mysteriously rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I know it may seem a bit unfair to review a recipe after making changes to it, but I think this recipe is very forgiving in that regard. So, I omitted the sausage and oil, and substituted chicken broth for the water. At the end, in place of the sugar, I poured some apple juice and because we had no parsley or dill, I threw in a bit of cider vinegar to give it a tang. With all of that, we thought it was a very good soup. We ate it cold with sour cream the first day and hot later. It may not be authentic the way I made it, but my husband (who is a dedicated beet hater) gave it a 9 and said he would definately eat it again. Oh, I also quartered and boiled the beets, carrots and potatoes in the broth and just mashed them with a potato masher instead of shredding beforehand, only because it was too much trouble to pull out the food processor. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is different than the borscht my grandmother from czechoslovakia used to make but just as delicious. I made it without the sausage and added some beef broth in place of the water. It was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was awesome! I didn't put in the sausage, or parsley garnish (because I forgot), but it was great, especially with sour cream. It looks really cool because it's extremely red. It seems pretty healthy and alkalizing as long as you don't go hog wild on the sour cream. I'm making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I made this at my son's request he loves beets! It came out very good. I took used dill instead of parsley. I didn't use any meat and I kept all my veggies in chunks instead of shredding. I also omitted the sugar and used balsamic vinegar instead. It came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was not good. I followed the recipe exactly and it didn't taste like anything at all. I wondered when it started with water if stock should be used instead. But, I assumed that all the veggies would flavor the soup. WRONG! I had to do some serious seasoning and added almost a cup of chicken broth powder before it tasted like anything other than water. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I love this recipe! The only modification I make is to add more sausage for my carnivore friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
It turned out amazing! I made this recipe for 15 people and they all loved it. The only change I made was instead of sausage I used ground beef, and used both green and purple cabbage. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I didn't put the pork in it and thought it was rather bland regardless of how much I tried to improve the taste with spices. I will try putting ham or making a broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was a good recipe, but with one VERY large omission! This will taste absolutely nothing like Ukrainian borscht without the addition of large amounts of fresh dill weed. The dill is the most stand out taste in borscht (as made in UA.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States