Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Absolutely excellent. My modifications: Hot italian sausage instead of pork sausage chicken stock instead of water double the garlic fresh tomatoes instead of canned fresh yogurt for topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Deelicious!! My favorite cabbage soup, I make it slightly different every time but it always turns out excellent. Most authentic. Thanks Patti!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is the best soup I ever tasted!!! Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Terrific recipe Patti. This is the first season I've grown beets in my garden in Calgary, Alberta, and was trying to figure out what to do with them. I didn't change a thing except cutting back on the liquid so it became more stew than soup, but it was still mighty tasty. Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
The easiest, most successful borscht I have ever made. I ended up doubling the recipe, and not adding the meat. It was awesome! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was great, but I did make a few changes. I shredded the potatoes and carrots, and left out the sausage. I also added dill and caraway seeds. Even my cabbage-hating son liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe but added aged vinegar instead of sugar and used dill instead of parsley as someone suggested. This is a real winner and one I will make again and again! In addition, it is low in fat and high in fiber! This really works with my lifestyle and freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very good. I added 3 Tbsp fresh dill instead of the parsley and added an extra beet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Beet borscht is one of my all-time favorite soups. I start out with short ribs, braised and then covered with water and simmered for two hours along with a chopped onion, rather than the sausage...I have added sausage to the soup later, but find it a tad fatty for a soup base. Also, I simply cannot make a beet borscht without adding a good 1/4 cup of chopped FRESH dill in the last half hour of cooking time. When I serve this soup, I add about a tablespoon of white vinegar to each bowl and a good dollop of sour cream...sounds weird, I know, but it is to die for, really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANN7258

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Stonewall, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was a delicious soup! Not quite what I expected (it was more tomato-y than I remember), but very hearty and filling. Perfect for our mysteriously rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States