Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
im from ukraine and like it my grandma always makes it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Loved this. It's a great way to use a lot of root vegetables that may be sitting around in your fridge/pantry. I'm not sure if this goes against the rules of what makes a borscht, but I added a little vinegar to taste, and found that it added a nice element to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I have never made borscht before, but I was quite happy with the results. The only changes I made was that I omitted the sausage and added a good tablespoon of fresh dill. While grating the beets felt like a lot of messy work, I think it's a lot faster than other recipes which require you to boil them for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was the nicest borscht recipe I've ever used. I omited the can of diced tomatos and used leftover diced up garlic sausage instead of the pork sausage. I also used a couple of cups of chicken broth instead of water. It was so good and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Love this. I was looking for something to do with my beets - I love beet greens, but what to do with the beets...? I tried other recipes and they were ok but no one else ate them. So I tried this, without the meat. I cubed/chopped, rather than shredded since I'm not very good at shredding. I also used chicken stock instead of water and skipped the tomato paste, skipped the sugar, and used stewed tomatoes (2 cans). It was great and was better the next day. I really love when the potatoes fall apart. The soup has great texture. Finally, something to do with the leftovers from my beet greens :) As an aside, I took "cook beets until they lose their color" to mean when the beets color the soup, which for me was about 10 min., when they were also tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I don't give many 5-star ratings (and my husband doesn't give ANY), but we both love this. Best recipe I've come across on this site. I just ate three bowls, and my husband is serving himself a fourth bowl right now. Amazing. I followed the recipe as written but used only 1/2 tsp of sugar rather than a full tsp. It seemed just right to me. Some reviewers recommended using fresh dill rather than parsley. I looove dill, so I gave that a try, and it was very good. That said, my husband and I both prefer it with fresh parsley. Parsley accentuates the complex medley of flavors in the soup rather than blurring/masking them. Next time we will try this without the sausage to see whether we like it as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Delicious! I used eatmedetroit's suggested changes and it turned out amazing. Pretty easy to make too, I'm a very unexperienced cook but it turned out pretty much perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe! I made it just as written and it was delicious - excellent flavor. I was pleased to see that it turned out quite thick - I remember it being a bit watery last time I had it. I served it with dill which I think is key to the flavor, and with pumpernickel bread. It makes a lot - I had quite a bit of leftovers... something to keep in mind when you are trying to figure out how to scale the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made the vegetarian version(minus sauage!) and it was just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enter710

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States