Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Great googly moogly. Love this recipe. Okay, so I left out the sausage, subbed golden beets (assuming red were preferred), left out the garlic and used a can of tomatoes with chilies in place of plain diced. Definitely not Ukranian by the time I got finished, but I'm sure were I to offer it to someone who spoke Ukranian, they'd be okay with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This recipe turned out well, though it took much longer than 55 min! Including peeling, shredding, and chopping everything, it took me 2 1/2 hours to prepare. It wasn't labor intensive most of the time, just waiting for various things to boil, but be aware that it will take some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was delicious! It brought me right back to when I was in Ukraine. I didn't add any sugar, but everything else I kept right with the recipe. I will definitely be recommending this to my family. On a side note, toasted and buttered sourdough bread has always been my favorite "side dish" for this soup: so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Zuke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is the first time I've ever tried Borscht soup. I made the recipe as is except I didn't use the tomato paste because I read the other reviews. I also chopped a big handful of fresh dill. The soup was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Laroche

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Apple Cider Vinegar is the secret to the perfect borsht seasoning. Try some in your bowl before you add it to the whole batch, the difference is amazing! Otherwise a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Super yummy! Baby loved it: blend it up or strain and give the soup juice in a cup with the veggies shreds on his tray. I didn't use meat, but used 1 t beef bullion. No sugar or tomato anything, except a squirt or two of ketchup (which is key). No garlic or garnishings needed either. Served withwarm crusty artisan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Delicious. I made mine with freshly roasted beets which makes a huge difference in deepening the beet flavor. Another thing I did, because I was in a hurry when I made the soup, is that I added a jar of Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage. Absolutely delicious. I am Eastern European.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
SO good & always gets rave reviews. Even better the next day. I tried using turkey sausage, but it was tasteless. Used canned beets because it was easier, used nappa cabbage because it's sweeter. Other than that, made it as written, and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I thought this was delish! I ate the left overs for more than a week at work. Just added a dollop o f sour cream and was good to go. Usually I add things or remove things here or there, this one however I did not as I have never tried to make Borscht before. I did use the pork sausage, but my Ukrainian student whom I showed the recipe to said it was very strange for there to be pork sausage. She suggested beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was very good. Next time I would add more beets as it was a little watery. I ended up tossing in a couple of beef bouillon cubes at the last minute to make up for the watery problem. That worked nicely. We really enjoyed the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States