Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is different than the borscht my grandmother from czechoslovakia used to make but just as delicious. I made it without the sausage and added some beef broth in place of the water. It was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was awesome! I didn't put in the sausage, or parsley garnish (because I forgot), but it was great, especially with sour cream. It looks really cool because it's extremely red. It seems pretty healthy and alkalizing as long as you don't go hog wild on the sour cream. I'm making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I made this at my son's request he loves beets! It came out very good. I took used dill instead of parsley. I didn't use any meat and I kept all my veggies in chunks instead of shredding. I also omitted the sugar and used balsamic vinegar instead. It came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was not good. I followed the recipe exactly and it didn't taste like anything at all. I wondered when it started with water if stock should be used instead. But, I assumed that all the veggies would flavor the soup. WRONG! I had to do some serious seasoning and added almost a cup of chicken broth powder before it tasted like anything other than water. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I love this recipe! The only modification I make is to add more sausage for my carnivore friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
It turned out amazing! I made this recipe for 15 people and they all loved it. The only change I made was instead of sausage I used ground beef, and used both green and purple cabbage. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I didn't put the pork in it and thought it was rather bland regardless of how much I tried to improve the taste with spices. I will try putting ham or making a broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was a good recipe, but with one VERY large omission! This will taste absolutely nothing like Ukrainian borscht without the addition of large amounts of fresh dill weed. The dill is the most stand out taste in borscht (as made in UA.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This soup has prompted me to write my first review. We have started a yearly "Borschtfest" and this recipe went over very well. I would just use a more flavorful sausage than what I used. Plus, I sliced the beets rather than grated them - gives more substance in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I used the shredded beets and followed the instructions which said to cook them until they've lost color. I ended up with no broth or water left. I ended up with a veggie salad. Avoid this recipe unless you intend to make a lot of changes to it to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States