Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Amazing how well this turned out while still flying by seat of pants. I boiled beets w/ skin on, and left cover off. Thought I would need to add water, but it was fine. I think w/ so many hearty veggies coming together, you really can't mess this up too badly. I bought some "stew meat" and braised in nasty red wine for a few hours and then threw in at the last minute. It doesn't need the beef but it did add some more heft as a main dish. No sugar, used beef broth as well, so didn't need additional sodium. Really great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Increased to 4 Medium (fresh) Beets for more flavor. It was amazing! congrats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Serve this warm or cold. We love it in late summer on a really hot day with sour cream -- my kids and their friends all love this once they try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Great recipe. As other sugested - boil the beets first and use the water for the soup. But the most important aspect this recipe is lacking is dill !!! It gives a completely particular taste and it's a must. Finish the soup with smetana or sour cream, and add both fresh choped dill and italian parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
i was just diagnosed with gallstones and was told beets are very good for gallbladder health ive never had a beet before this was my first time. i was pleasantly surprised i did have to make changes im not supposed to eat cabbage or onions so i added baby spinach instead and a bit of onion powder. no sausage either since im also not allowed meat... it was very filling also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This recipe was FANTASTIC! I substituted ground turkey the sausage and used fat-free sour cream. I also added about 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice and maybe a tablespoon balsamic vinegar. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Awesome! I think I might try adding more beets next time but this was really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Good soup! I have only had Borscht once before trying this recipe so I cannot comment on its' authentic-ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I omitted the meat. This soup is a nutritional powerhouse with a wealth of antioxidants! Don't forget the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States