Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good recipe. I used beef short ribs and added some beef broth. I grated the veggies for uniformity. No need for the sugar. I added 1 T vinegar for that very subtle sweet and sour effect. My family loved it served with fresh bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
What an amazing soup! I made a few changes to it though and think it still came out beautifully. Instead of using pork sausage, I used about 6-8 slices of bacon (chopped) and a half pound of ground beef. This gave it a wonderful smoky flavor and reminded me of my grandmother's recipe. Also, I didn't add any of the tomato paste or canned tomatoes. I felt that the beet flavor would be more distinguished this way. Will absolutely make it again, my husband won't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mymushypeas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Superb! I also omitted the meat ingredient. Lots and lots of dill really helps to bring out the borscht flavours, in my opinion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
though this was simple and very tasty. Used tomatoe soup because i had no paste and i added 1 tsp. of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Really good. I didn't think the beet flavor was very strong, which was a plus for those who I made it for, but if I were going to make it again for myself, I'd add some more beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
great taste, but had no texture because everything was shredded. Will make again, but will dice all vegetable to give soup texture and visual appeal. Low rating due to texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
one thing Ive found as a good extra (although maybe not the healthiest) is instead of sour cream, try a spoonful of miracle whip, if this sounds strange to you, then try it by taking just a cup of the borscht and adding just a drop, stir really good and then see what you think, i thought it would be weird the first time i tried it but my Russian friend made me, and im glad i did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I have made this borscht a couple of times now and have blended my old recipe with it. I add 2 tbsp lemon juice to the recipe which I have doubled to 2 quarts water and 2 quarts chicken stock. I also omit the sausage. I use 8 beets and the same amount of carrots called for. I also garnish with dill instead of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I registered just so I could give this recipe a 5. Hearty and delicious. I use turkey sausage and a dash or two of cider vinegar instead of sugar. This has become a repeat player in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Canadian Army Captain. I wanted to surprise the troops with something special for working a weekend. I chose this recipe and it turn out awesome. Of course, I had to triple the recipe, but no one is hungry now. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States