Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Really good. I didn't think the beet flavor was very strong, which was a plus for those who I made it for, but if I were going to make it again for myself, I'd add some more beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
great taste, but had no texture because everything was shredded. Will make again, but will dice all vegetable to give soup texture and visual appeal. Low rating due to texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
one thing Ive found as a good extra (although maybe not the healthiest) is instead of sour cream, try a spoonful of miracle whip, if this sounds strange to you, then try it by taking just a cup of the borscht and adding just a drop, stir really good and then see what you think, i thought it would be weird the first time i tried it but my Russian friend made me, and im glad i did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I have made this borscht a couple of times now and have blended my old recipe with it. I add 2 tbsp lemon juice to the recipe which I have doubled to 2 quarts water and 2 quarts chicken stock. I also omit the sausage. I use 8 beets and the same amount of carrots called for. I also garnish with dill instead of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I registered just so I could give this recipe a 5. Hearty and delicious. I use turkey sausage and a dash or two of cider vinegar instead of sugar. This has become a repeat player in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Canadian Army Captain. I wanted to surprise the troops with something special for working a weekend. I chose this recipe and it turn out awesome. Of course, I had to triple the recipe, but no one is hungry now. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is a very good recipe, but I miss a few ingredients my mother used in her Borsch. The most important is chopped up beet greens from the beets (this is essential), lots of dill, and a few smoked baby ribs instead of the sausage. Otherwise this recipe is authentic (i.e., same as my mother's).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Amazing how well this turned out while still flying by seat of pants. I boiled beets w/ skin on, and left cover off. Thought I would need to add water, but it was fine. I think w/ so many hearty veggies coming together, you really can't mess this up too badly. I bought some "stew meat" and braised in nasty red wine for a few hours and then threw in at the last minute. It doesn't need the beef but it did add some more heft as a main dish. No sugar, used beef broth as well, so didn't need additional sodium. Really great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Increased to 4 Medium (fresh) Beets for more flavor. It was amazing! congrats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Serve this warm or cold. We love it in late summer on a really hot day with sour cream -- my kids and their friends all love this once they try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States