Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This dish looks beautiful and is delicious. The only ingredient I omitted was the sugar, because we have a diabetic in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Had borscht once and I loved it... but then had it at a polish restaurant and hated it! It made me realize there are MANY ways to make borscht and it's very possible your going to like one and not the other. I loved this one because it had pork in it and the earthy beet flavor was not overpowering. The polish borscht i had was very overpowering with beet flavor and i realized that's what i dont' like-- and also why many people probably don't like Borscht. This one, however, was great! I used 2 large hot Italian sausage links out of the casing. Next time I will put 1 more link in there. Not too greasy with the pork... After i dumped the pork in the water, some oil accumulated at the top and i just skimmed it out. For the cabbage, i got pre-shredded coleslaw mix. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly swapping out dill for parsley. It was great! I did try one of the other recommendations of adding a bit of balsamic vinegar at the end - and that was a nice touch. I may also try to add a chicken bullion cube to the water just to see what happens. Otherwise great recipe and I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Made this soup many times after watching my Mother make it for years. She used to cook a piece of beef brisket for the stock first, but I choose to make mine meatless. She never added sugar, but did add lemon juice at the end for a tang. There used to be something called sour salt, but I haven't seen it in years to buy. Fresh dill and of course the sour cream was the final touch. Dad liked his potatoes cooked separately then added to the soup just before serving. Everyone has their own likes. I did cook my beets with the skin on first, then used the lovely red liquid for the stock. The skins slips off after simmering for an hour, then dice the beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Loved it, made enough to freeze and it was wonderful heated up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
We just had this for Sunday dinner with a little wine and fresh bread. This was colorful,full flavored with interesting textures and we are going to have this again. Your friends relatives probably woun't mind that I doubled the organic garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NINJETTE
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Love the recipe. We don't use parsley for garnish, but add fresh dill to the soup, and on top of the sour cream as garnish if there is any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vvanke
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I did not change a thing about this recipe. Absolutely delicious. It is perfect for these cold winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I doubled it because I usually double recipes, but I filled two family-sized pots and ended up eating borscht for almost three weeks! It tastes way better with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I omitted the sausage and added in some vegetable stock. I added 3 tbsp of fresh dill and 2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar at the end. Exciting flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddingchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very comforting dish! I used only 3 sausages and bought pre-shredded cabbage. Didn't think to get the pre-shredded carrots, that would have helped! For my pot I added about 2 tablespoons of salt (this was about perfect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States