Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
It's simple wonderful!! Made and Canned this recipe 2 years in a row now! Gallons of it!! :) Thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Great recipe. I've used this recipe before! Excellent but I use pork chops instead of sausage. I don't use diced tomatoes, only the paste. I like sour, so I add 1 cup of white vinegar and omit parsley but use fresh dill at the end. Pretty close to how my ukrainian mom made it. Don't add sugar. I add 3 cups of beef broth. I make it like a stew! Always taste better the next day !!! Smuchnoho ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily Wolwyn Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I have made this recipe twice now. Each time I always cook the meat with the onions first in the pot I will be using so I dont loose any of the "fonde" for flavor. I drain the meat a bit to reduce the fat, but then everything else I do exactly to plan. My husband doesn't like beets at all and he loves this soup when I make it. I also microplane the garlic in to maximize the garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is a pretty good recipe that I use as a starting point for my borsch. I made a few changes. I don't use pork. I did add a little bit of sirloin in the bottom for my husband though. I added about 1 and a half bullion cubes to the water and added 2 more secret ingredients... It sounds gross, but I always add a little bit of ketchup and tabasco sauce. I think it takes it to the next level by adding a little more sweetness while also cutting the sweetness. Instead of parsley- I use a ton of dill, which is more traditional. I get a beautiful red color to it, and love to take it in my lunch for work with some smetana (sour cream)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This recipe was delicious! Very similar to my mother-in-law's whose borscht is notorious as "best in town". This was my first time making it so would have liked a bit more detail ie. how long approx it would take for the color to cook out of the beets (about 50 mins) but otherwise good! I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
So good. I followed the recipe as is and it was everything I hoped it would be. I'm not a borscht expert...just had it once before and loved it. I loved this just as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I loved this recipe and gave it too friends who also raved about it. I had lots of produce from my CSA that I needed to use. The only thing I had to buy to complete this was the sausage. A great way to use all of the produce I had on hand. I'm making it again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I tried to follow the recipe closely, with the exception of using pork back ribs, which I cooked first then took off the bones and added to the soup. I also gently cooked the beets, skin on, before peeling and shredding and I used the deep red cooking water as the base for the broth. I added about two tablespoons of red wine vinegar as well, which I think is essential. Otherwise followed the recipe. It was good the first day, even better the next. My kids loved it! I will use this recipe again. Might try using beef shank and beef broth next time. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This reminded me off my grandmother's borscht. Since I no longer eat meat, I used vegetable broth instead of half the water, and omitted the meat. I didn't think my grandmother used garlic in her recipe, so I omitted that as well. I also added a generous handful of fresh, chopped dill at the end and left out the parsley. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
DELICIOUS! I doubled this recipe because I had lots of veggies on hand (thank god I used my huge stock pot). I omitted the sausage, used red cabbage (that's what I had in the fridge), and added 2 packages of chicken stock (the concentrated kind that's sort of a jelly texture). Served it with sour cream and fresh dill on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States