Ukrainian Meat Filled Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Very good and pretty easy. I added about 2 cloves of garlic near the end of cooking the onions. I also used V-8 juice instead of tomato juice. It seemed to make the sauce a bit deeper. Savoy cabbage is rather easy to work with, I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
These were great! I grew up in an Ethnic area of upstate and NY and this taste is authentic! These disappeared in no time - so I'll probably double it in the future. They were a little salty - so I'll cut the salt back too. My picky son doesn't like sour cream - and they were great without the sauce... They didn't need it. I really enjoyed these, thanks for the taste of "home food" Olga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
I've tried this recipe and it's really good but I've subsituted the groud pork with italian sausage and it turned goood into great!!! It doesn't matter your prefrence hot or sweet it's the bewst cabbage roll I've ever had (myself I've never been crazy about stuffed cabbage or cabbage rolls but this is worth a try)but the Italian sausage does provide a better flavor, in fact it puts it to a 6 out of 5 stars. Thank you Olga
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDW3264

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This cabbage rolls were gone within 5 mins, at our wine and cheese party. I served them with bread dumplings, the sauce goes well over them. The fresh dill on top gave it a nice finishing touch. Thanks, Angela Himmeroder, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I hardly ever cook something this complicated(long), but this is one of the best entres I have ever tasted. It made me popular with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I've been making this recipe for monthes now, every single person that has tried it, has loved it. including 7 & 10 year olds! The only substitutions I have used have been due to necessity, ground turkey works, and best of all is hot ground pork. yummy. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
Alot of work and I've had better-tasting stuffed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I cut back on the salt, substituted garlic salt for plain salt and was liberal with the black pepper. The savoy cabbage was awesome to work with, much easier than ordinary cabbage. To make the rolls even, pull off all the leaves, then arrange them so one small leaf is nested inside a larger leaf, and use a small cookie/ice cream scoop to portion the meat. Wrap tightly like mini burritos. I couldn't decide between broth or tomato juice, so I mixed a small can of tomato paste into the broth and loved that flavorful variation, although it was still a bit soupy, so next time I will cut back on the broth. I didn't make the sour cream reduction sauce. Instead, I offered up a bowl of homemade yogurt and chopped chives or dill for the guests to spoon onto their own plates. My "meat-and-potatoes-only" guy ate seconds and thirds. I liked the light, fresh texture of the pork, without all the usual rice filler. Thanks so much for this recipe. I will be making this on many a cold winter night to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I've made this 4 or 5 times now and each time it has been wonderful. The sour cream sauce is really good, once I used dry dill and it worked ok, but not as good as fresh. Use savoy cabbage though, regular cabbage is harder to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States