Ukrainian Meat Filled Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I ground my own pork using pork loin. This is the best stuffed cabbage I have ever had! Restaurant quality!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Consider frying the onions in bacon grease for additional flavor. If you cut the cabbage leaves off the core and boil them in 1 gallon water / 1 cup white vinegar, they become flexible yet strong enough to handle. Boiling them already removed from the head makes is easier than trying to separate them from the head while it rests in boiling water. The vinegar toughens them a bit for handling, and adds a nice flavor. Savoy cabbage is awfully delicate for rolling - I prefer plain white cabbage. I don't think garlic or tomato in any form belongs in this recipe for it to be authentic. Thanks for a very interesting post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I've made this 4 or 5 times now and each time it has been wonderful. The sour cream sauce is really good, once I used dry dill and it worked ok, but not as good as fresh. Use savoy cabbage though, regular cabbage is harder to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I cut back on the salt, substituted garlic salt for plain salt and was liberal with the black pepper. The savoy cabbage was awesome to work with, much easier than ordinary cabbage. To make the rolls even, pull off all the leaves, then arrange them so one small leaf is nested inside a larger leaf, and use a small cookie/ice cream scoop to portion the meat. Wrap tightly like mini burritos. I couldn't decide between broth or tomato juice, so I mixed a small can of tomato paste into the broth and loved that flavorful variation, although it was still a bit soupy, so next time I will cut back on the broth. I didn't make the sour cream reduction sauce. Instead, I offered up a bowl of homemade yogurt and chopped chives or dill for the guests to spoon onto their own plates. My "meat-and-potatoes-only" guy ate seconds and thirds. I liked the light, fresh texture of the pork, without all the usual rice filler. Thanks so much for this recipe. I will be making this on many a cold winter night to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
Alot of work and I've had better-tasting stuffed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I've been making this recipe for monthes now, every single person that has tried it, has loved it. including 7 & 10 year olds! The only substitutions I have used have been due to necessity, ground turkey works, and best of all is hot ground pork. yummy. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I hardly ever cook something this complicated(long), but this is one of the best entres I have ever tasted. It made me popular with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This cabbage rolls were gone within 5 mins, at our wine and cheese party. I served them with bread dumplings, the sauce goes well over them. The fresh dill on top gave it a nice finishing touch. Thanks, Angela Himmeroder, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
I've tried this recipe and it's really good but I've subsituted the groud pork with italian sausage and it turned goood into great!!! It doesn't matter your prefrence hot or sweet it's the bewst cabbage roll I've ever had (myself I've never been crazy about stuffed cabbage or cabbage rolls but this is worth a try)but the Italian sausage does provide a better flavor, in fact it puts it to a 6 out of 5 stars. Thank you Olga
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDW3264

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States