Ukrainian Meat Filled Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was a great base recipe. A few changes: pre-cooked the rice and added to 1# uncooked ground beef mixed with 1/2 raw onion & 3 cloves of garlic, chopped. I added 1 tsp dill weed and 1/2 tsp of caraway seed,1/2 tsp black pepper, and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I parboiled the cabbage for easier peeling (reserving the rest for Minestrone Soup). I used two pints of homemade tomato sauce for the bottom of the baking sheet and for topping the cabbage rolls. The sauce was absolutely amazing...and very rich! Two cabbage rolls each was all we could eat, along with some sugar snap beans and chunky applesauce. F*i*v*e* STARS in my book! Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
These were awesome - a cross between cabbage rolls and swedish meatballs. Here's how I tweaked the recipe - it came out great! I took the reviewer's advice and added 1 cup white vinegar to the cabbage water, and it really worked great - I will always do this from now on! I also substitued 1/3 cup oatmeal for the 1/2 cup breadcrumbs and added 1 cup cooked brown rice to the meat mixture. I had read that the sour cream/broth sauce was runny (and it was) and I wanted more of a white sauce, so I had to add a total of 3 tbs flour to the sour cream instead of just 1 tbs. The sauce was magnificent and went wonderfully with the rolls. Hubby likes the more traditonal tomato sauce on cabbage rolls, so I will go half and half on the next batch to make him happy. I fell in love with this recipe and it is the only one I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Yummy! I made it exactly the way it was written. Very good. Maybe next time I will try italian sausage. But it was great with just ground pork. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I did make a few changes, though. Instead of the ground pork, I used 1lb ground turkey. The grocery store didn't have any pork, go figure. I also added a tablespoon of minced garlic to the groung meat mixture & 3/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs. It turned out perfect. The rolls were very moist & extremely flavorful. The sauce was a bit thin, but yummy none the less. My husband was a bit apprehensive about trying them, but raved when he tasted them. The procces is time consuming, but worth it. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe was time-consuming but well worth it. I was surprised at how much my husband raved about it (he even took leftovers for his lunch.) I served it with steamed broccoli and dilled new potatoes. I made some changes though. I added garlic to the onions, and mixed tomato paste with the chicken stock and then made the sour cream sauce with that - which was very good. The savoy cabbage was easy to work with. Next time I will add a few more seasonings to pork mixture. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I ground my own pork using pork loin. This is the best stuffed cabbage I have ever had! Restaurant quality!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Consider frying the onions in bacon grease for additional flavor. If you cut the cabbage leaves off the core and boil them in 1 gallon water / 1 cup white vinegar, they become flexible yet strong enough to handle. Boiling them already removed from the head makes is easier than trying to separate them from the head while it rests in boiling water. The vinegar toughens them a bit for handling, and adds a nice flavor. Savoy cabbage is awfully delicate for rolling - I prefer plain white cabbage. I don't think garlic or tomato in any form belongs in this recipe for it to be authentic. Thanks for a very interesting post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I've made this 4 or 5 times now and each time it has been wonderful. The sour cream sauce is really good, once I used dry dill and it worked ok, but not as good as fresh. Use savoy cabbage though, regular cabbage is harder to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I cut back on the salt, substituted garlic salt for plain salt and was liberal with the black pepper. The savoy cabbage was awesome to work with, much easier than ordinary cabbage. To make the rolls even, pull off all the leaves, then arrange them so one small leaf is nested inside a larger leaf, and use a small cookie/ice cream scoop to portion the meat. Wrap tightly like mini burritos. I couldn't decide between broth or tomato juice, so I mixed a small can of tomato paste into the broth and loved that flavorful variation, although it was still a bit soupy, so next time I will cut back on the broth. I didn't make the sour cream reduction sauce. Instead, I offered up a bowl of homemade yogurt and chopped chives or dill for the guests to spoon onto their own plates. My "meat-and-potatoes-only" guy ate seconds and thirds. I liked the light, fresh texture of the pork, without all the usual rice filler. Thanks so much for this recipe. I will be making this on many a cold winter night to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States