Ukrainian Meat Filled Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
So delicious! Exactly as I remember for special occasions growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I loved this! I made a few changes though. Used 1.5 lbs ground beef instead of pork and beef broth instead of chicken stock. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These are awesome and it made a LOT ! I used a purple cabbage from our garden. The family loved it. Much better then the tomatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Really good. Might be good with rice added to the meat mixture too. I just mixed the broth and sour cream together after it came out of the oven and poured it back over the rolls instead of doing that part on the stove. Have made a couple of times, will become a winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
i remember growing up with my Ukrainian grandma and aunts making cabbage rolls similar to these but using rice and a mixture of ground beef and ground veal and a little salt pork grease. Grandma would fry up bits of salt pork very crispy and sprinkle the bits and the grease rendered over the cabbage rolls, cover them with raw cabbage leaves and bake for about 1 hr then remove the leaves and brown..oh so yummy...ahhh what a memory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I am so surprised at how tasty these are!! I'm a traditional rice and tomato sauce cabbage roll eater--but I made these for our Sunday meal and they were fantastic!!! The sauce is surprisingly flavorful (though i let it get too hot and it was runny) the fresh dill is a must!! thanks for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Delicious! I followed previous advice and boiled the cabbage with a cup of vinegar in the water. Couldn't find savoy cabbage, so used regular - would advise using the outer leaves for the lining the bottom and covering the top and the smaller, more tender leaves for the rolls themselves. I also added garlic to the onions when I cooked them. This dish is definitely going into the normal rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Not really good or really bad, just okay. It seemed like more work than the typical cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I cooked these for the first time on easter. I used ground sage pork and I cooked it accidentally ahead of time. I found that I did not have to bake the cabbage rolls in the oven as long and I did not have to worry about knowing for sure if my pork was all the way done or not. The thing that took the longest was removing the leaves. I had to keep turning the heat down, because it was getting too hot to handle, until I got smart and put a pair of rubber gloves on while working over the steam. My husband loved these cabbage rolls and said that we need to have these more often. I did make some homemade noodles, also for the first time and they need more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlavorLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
One of the easiest recipes for cabbage rolls, hubby just loved them, he complained at first because it was not made with tomatoes, but just devoured them...I loved them too ....just great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brossard, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States