Ukrainian Meat Filled Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was my first ever attempt at cabbage rolls so I followed the recipe exactly and they were a big hit. Being my first time, I didn't realize how much the leaves on top would shrink so I'll overlap more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoodiemama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I turned this into a vegetarian dish by substituting fake meat crumbles for the ground pork and veggie broth for the chicken stock. It worked pretty friggin' good! I'd reduce the pepper a bit, and reduce the salt by a little bit more. (I think that's only cause of the veggie crumbles; not a meat-ful problem.) I did use vinegar in the boiling water. I used savoy cabbage and cored it but did not cut the leaves off. They weren't hard to get off at all. I did boil them longer than instructions, and found them surprisingly easy to roll and have stay put. Not too sure if the cooking time had anything to do with that or not, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Excellent trip off of the beaten path! We don't use ground pork, so I used beef instead and it was still wonderful. I also followed the vinegar boil suggestion and it was perfection. I made mine HUGE, and that made 6 big rolls. I could have eaten them all--beefy, chewy from the cabbage, hearty from the stuffing ingredients (I used rice and oatmeal), and zippy from the sour cream and dill combo. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I changed the recipe slightly and sauted garlic and mushrooms with the onions, and I used ground beef versus pork. I also added some condensed cream of mushroom soup to the broth (about 2/3 a cap). I also added two tablespoons butter and a quarter cup of half and half to the sour cream topping. It came out AMAZING. But my props are to the original recipe--I had mushrooms I had to use so this is the only reason I changed the recipe. The meat filling was succulent---this recipes so tops the tomato-based versions in my opinion. P.S. this was my FIRST time with stuffed cabbage rolls. It's easy (albeit time consuming) and a recipe I plan to use for many years, thanks for sharing it, it's a treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MULTIFARIOUS5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Good, everyone liked it. I might try itin the slow cooker if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
So delicious! Exactly as I remember for special occasions growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I loved this! I made a few changes though. Used 1.5 lbs ground beef instead of pork and beef broth instead of chicken stock. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These are awesome and it made a LOT ! I used a purple cabbage from our garden. The family loved it. Much better then the tomatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Really good. Might be good with rice added to the meat mixture too. I just mixed the broth and sour cream together after it came out of the oven and poured it back over the rolls instead of doing that part on the stove. Have made a couple of times, will become a winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
i remember growing up with my Ukrainian grandma and aunts making cabbage rolls similar to these but using rice and a mixture of ground beef and ground veal and a little salt pork grease. Grandma would fry up bits of salt pork very crispy and sprinkle the bits and the grease rendered over the cabbage rolls, cover them with raw cabbage leaves and bake for about 1 hr then remove the leaves and brown..oh so yummy...ahhh what a memory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States