Ukrainian Meat Filled Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Consider frying the onions in bacon grease for additional flavor. If you cut the cabbage leaves off the core and boil them in 1 gallon water / 1 cup white vinegar, they become flexible yet strong enough to handle. Boiling them already removed from the head makes is easier than trying to separate them from the head while it rests in boiling water. The vinegar toughens them a bit for handling, and adds a nice flavor. Savoy cabbage is awfully delicate for rolling - I prefer plain white cabbage. I don't think garlic or tomato in any form belongs in this recipe for it to be authentic. Thanks for a very interesting post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I did make a few changes, though. Instead of the ground pork, I used 1lb ground turkey. The grocery store didn't have any pork, go figure. I also added a tablespoon of minced garlic to the groung meat mixture & 3/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs. It turned out perfect. The rolls were very moist & extremely flavorful. The sauce was a bit thin, but yummy none the less. My husband was a bit apprehensive about trying them, but raved when he tasted them. The procces is time consuming, but worth it. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Very good and pretty easy. I added about 2 cloves of garlic near the end of cooking the onions. I also used V-8 juice instead of tomato juice. It seemed to make the sauce a bit deeper. Savoy cabbage is rather easy to work with, I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
These were awesome - a cross between cabbage rolls and swedish meatballs. Here's how I tweaked the recipe - it came out great! I took the reviewer's advice and added 1 cup white vinegar to the cabbage water, and it really worked great - I will always do this from now on! I also substitued 1/3 cup oatmeal for the 1/2 cup breadcrumbs and added 1 cup cooked brown rice to the meat mixture. I had read that the sour cream/broth sauce was runny (and it was) and I wanted more of a white sauce, so I had to add a total of 3 tbs flour to the sour cream instead of just 1 tbs. The sauce was magnificent and went wonderfully with the rolls. Hubby likes the more traditonal tomato sauce on cabbage rolls, so I will go half and half on the next batch to make him happy. I fell in love with this recipe and it is the only one I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
These were great! I grew up in an Ethnic area of upstate and NY and this taste is authentic! These disappeared in no time - so I'll probably double it in the future. They were a little salty - so I'll cut the salt back too. My picky son doesn't like sour cream - and they were great without the sauce... They didn't need it. I really enjoyed these, thanks for the taste of "home food" Olga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was a great base recipe. A few changes: pre-cooked the rice and added to 1# uncooked ground beef mixed with 1/2 raw onion & 3 cloves of garlic, chopped. I added 1 tsp dill weed and 1/2 tsp of caraway seed,1/2 tsp black pepper, and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I parboiled the cabbage for easier peeling (reserving the rest for Minestrone Soup). I used two pints of homemade tomato sauce for the bottom of the baking sheet and for topping the cabbage rolls. The sauce was absolutely amazing...and very rich! Two cabbage rolls each was all we could eat, along with some sugar snap beans and chunky applesauce. F*i*v*e* STARS in my book! Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I've been making this recipe for monthes now, every single person that has tried it, has loved it. including 7 & 10 year olds! The only substitutions I have used have been due to necessity, ground turkey works, and best of all is hot ground pork. yummy. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I loved this! I made a few changes though. Used 1.5 lbs ground beef instead of pork and beef broth instead of chicken stock. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I changed the recipe slightly and sauted garlic and mushrooms with the onions, and I used ground beef versus pork. I also added some condensed cream of mushroom soup to the broth (about 2/3 a cap). I also added two tablespoons butter and a quarter cup of half and half to the sour cream topping. It came out AMAZING. But my props are to the original recipe--I had mushrooms I had to use so this is the only reason I changed the recipe. The meat filling was succulent---this recipes so tops the tomato-based versions in my opinion. P.S. this was my FIRST time with stuffed cabbage rolls. It's easy (albeit time consuming) and a recipe I plan to use for many years, thanks for sharing it, it's a treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MULTIFARIOUS5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
So delicious! Exactly as I remember for special occasions growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States