Ukrainian Dill and Garlic Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This is exactly how my husbands baba made the pickles. I have made them myself now, and they are great. (I usually add an extra hot pepper or 2). Don't be scared if the jar bubbles when you open it, thats the way it is suppose to be. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
These are not technically pickled, they are fermented. I am American but have lived in Poland for 11 years and this is how they do their "malo solne" which means low salt cukes. They are fantastic for digestion as they crate a bacteria that aids in proper digestion. But the above water to salt ratio seems high to me so I can see why some say it is too salty, they should not be too salty. Here we do 1 liter of water to 1 tablespoon of salt. We also put in the large dill flower, sliced of horseradish (if you like them a bit spicier) slice of garlic, peppercorns and various leaves from the following plants or trees: horseradish, tart cherry, black currant or oak. Also you don't have to put the brine over when it is hot. You only do that if you are trying to speed up the process but I find they stay crispier if you let the brine cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These are the best pickles ever! I don't do canning, so these are just perfect for people like me, EASY. Very versatile too, I used horseradish instead of peppers and they are great. I don't buy pickles anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
These are the ones that are to die for.I tried them on the 6th day and refrigerated them on the 7th.Just like mom used to make.Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I grew up on these pickles, My grandmother made them every summer ,My Aunts still do.And I had too a few times There the best ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I am a huge pickle fan, but these were way to salty for me. We tried them on day 5. My pickle loving kids didn't like them either. I think we have to stick with Claussen. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
These are so easy. A hit in the neighborhood. Don't be scared of the slime on top. I left for 13 days and very pungent, but great. Did not work too well for store-bought pickling cukes - too soft. From the garden, they kept crisp. Amazing recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
These are very aromatic and delicious! Thanks for the recipe! My problem was that they come out too salty. I'm wondering if it's because I scaled down the recipe and the ingredients are not supposed to be scaled down. I will try with 5 pounds of cucumbers next time. Make sure you are not using a plastic container for these, but a glass or ceramic one as the recipe specifies; it does make a difference. If yours come out too salty like mine did, here is how I saved them: Pour the liquid out, and wash the cucumbers with running water (if too salty, soak them in water for some time). Return them in the container with the spices. Boil 1 part vinegar, with 1.5 part water, and 1/4 part sugar. Pour the boiling liquid on top of the cucumbers, seal and store in refrigerator. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delicious! We had a bumper crop of cukes this year so I was handing out jars of pickles to whoever came to visit. Remember, these have to be kept in the refrigerator after you jar them and I was running out of room. Everyone loved them. The first batch I made just like the recipe said and we had a few people tell us "too much garlic" I love garlic but I had to agree with them. The second batch I cut the garlic in half, much better. This is definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
It was my first try with pickles, I guess I'm just used to store bought. Just not enough seasoning or sour enough. Maybe they'll be better the longer they set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snappy cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States