Ukrainian Country Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
THANKS FOR A GREAT KEEPER! I TOOK THIS TO MY VISITATION AT THE LOCAL NURSING HOME WITH MY CHURCH GROUP. THE OLDER LADIES LOVED THIS! GOT NOTHING BUT RAVES! THANKS! AAAAA+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I didn't have my (Polish) grandmother's recipe on hand, but this worked perfectly. It tasted just as like Babcia's! Helpful Hint: you may want to fill the loaves with lekvar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made this recipe because I have been trying to find the perfect PASKA recipe. This is just as I remember and love. Breakfast this week has been divine with toasted babka. Thank you so much I can't wait to start baking them for Easter! I also made the dough in my bread machine then baked in the oven, 1/2 the recipe fit in my machine, and baked in a 2 lb can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I was so disappointed in this recipe. It turned out awful for me. I was so hopeful and followed it to the "t" but was greatly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I have been using this recipe for 3 years now. DELICIOUS and MOIST and comes out tall!!! I do not use coffee cans, but a Tube Pan (much like a bundt pan, but the center is removable from the base). I cook it at the same temperature and same time. A Nice Touch! I brush egg whites on the top of the Babka after te first process of "baking for 15 minutes @400 Degrees"...AND after a while I do notice it turning brown, I then cover it w/foil. It has turned out perfect each time!~..2 LARGE/TALL Babkas every year (very moist!) for the past 3 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
not sure how to rate, i'm not a bread maker by any means. i may have cooked this too long? a little dry, but it does taste almost EXACTLY like my mother in laws. i didn't use the raisins because i don't like them in bread. i will make again, for my Dad and use the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Made it yesterday,,,it's going fast! Only had plastic coffee cans, but used old steam bread molds I had,,,worked great! Tops on my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was a great recipe. I did cut the recipe in half. Used 1 cup dried raisins mixed with cranberries. Turned out better with the cranberries the second time. I also used my bread machine, but hand folded the raisins/ cranberries. The first time I used only the raisins and tossed them into the bread machine. Didn't turn out so good. The raisins were all torn apart. I also noticed that once you fold the raisins/cranberries in, the rise before you bake takes almost all day. Without the raisins/cranberries it takes only 2 hours for it to rise. I made half the dough without the raisins/cranberries and then half with. Make sure you let the dough rise in a butter spread pan before you bake. I warm my oven for a few minutes and then turn it off and let the dough rise in a warm area. After its done baking I spread lightly in mixer: first 1 egg white until fluffy then add powdered sugar until thick. Spread it on the warm bread as soon as it’s done baking and let it dry. Can also sprinkle the top with sprinkles before it dries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this for Ukrainian Christmas and it was a big hit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I have used this recipe for years. It always turns out well and tastes great. It is not too sweet so can be used in combination with sweet or savory dishes. I love it and so does my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States