Ukrainian Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is dry like alot of chicken dishes, my trick for all chicken I make is to marinate in BUTTERMILK for 30-40 minutes. Makes any piece of chicken tender no matter how you cook it. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriana Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Kiev has always been the requested "birthday" meal, even now that my children are adults and home for a visit. Also was the end of term foods lab test for my high school classes. If it did not "squirt butter" you did not get full marks :-) so here are a few tweeks to an already good recipe. Include oregano, parsley & real minced garlic to the chilled butter. Once wrapped around the butter, first roll the chicken in seasoned flour, then the egg wash, then the seasoned bread, cracker or potato chip (plain) crumbs THEN wrap tightly in wax paper and chill for at least a half hour, longer if time allows. Can be made a day ahead. Only unwrap when you are ready to place in the hot fat. This avoids the need for tooth picks completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
A lot of work but very tasty. To keep it a bit healthier, I baked in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes and it browned up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Great to prepare ahead of time and cook later. Wonderful flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
The first time I served this recipe my husband went nuts for it. He asks for it all the time. Now he has started enviting all of his friends over to try it. It is a really great recipie. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was FANTASTIC!! Fairly easy to prepare, & the taste is incredible! The only thing I had a prob with is using toothpicks to hold it together. I LOVE the way the butter squirts out when you cut into the chicken. I made this for my in-laws & they LOVED it! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
At our lake cottage without any cookbooks, I wanted to make chicken kiev so went online and found this great recipe. My nineteen year old daughter, the food critic, loved it, as did we all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was delicious. Sure there's a mistake in quoting 6 cubes of butter versus 8 chicken breasts but the contributor goes on to state that 1 cube of butter is required for each chicken breast. Obviously you are meant to cut 8 cubes of butter. It was an honest mistake/typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Let me admit this first: I did not read the entire recipie before proceeding so I ended up taking short cuts. I did not make the seasoned butter. I just sprinkled the pepper & garlic (I used garlic salt) on the Chicken & rolled in the pat of butter. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE GOOD STRONG TOOTHPICKS!!! I breaded it but didn't put in the fridge. I fried it right away. The taste was still INCREDIBLE! My family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2000
This recipe was to live for! I served it with some company who just absolutely loved it! There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States