Ukrainian Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
William, you have a really good personal recipe here! Thanks for sharing it! I don't keep bread crumbs on hand because I prefer the lighter, crispier Panko crumbs so used them instead. I also sprinkled one tablespoon of Panko on each piece of butter just before rolling the chicken to add more depth in the center. I am with others who are disgusted at the juvenile comments being left here! For those who mentioned the chicken being dry either the oil was probably not the right temperature and/or was over cooked. One other possibility is that they're simply not a white meat lover (white meat generally is on the dryer side) so just use chicken thigh meat instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is a delicious recipe and well worth anyone trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was delicious. Sure there's a mistake in quoting 6 cubes of butter versus 8 chicken breasts but the contributor goes on to state that 1 cube of butter is required for each chicken breast. Obviously you are meant to cut 8 cubes of butter. It was an honest mistake/typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was very good. I'm impressed I actually was able to contain the butter, so that once you cut the chicken the butter squirts out. I didn't use toothpicks...I just placed it in the pan seam side down first. I browned both sides then put the whole pan right in the oven for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. Next time I will have to add more of the spices. I liked the flavor, so I wouldn't change the spices...just add more of them. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing my favorite dish from the famous restaurant...the Russian Tea Room in NYC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This Kiev recipe version is very good too, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This receipe has been a favorite of mine and my family for years. I've been making it for forty years or so. And when made right, nothing can beat it. Why someone would say it was dry is beyond me. They should say actually how they made it, because if you go according do any directions for chicken kiev, it won't be dry. Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Wailuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is dry like alot of chicken dishes, my trick for all chicken I make is to marinate in BUTTERMILK for 30-40 minutes. Makes any piece of chicken tender no matter how you cook it. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriana Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Kiev has always been the requested "birthday" meal, even now that my children are adults and home for a visit. Also was the end of term foods lab test for my high school classes. If it did not "squirt butter" you did not get full marks :-) so here are a few tweeks to an already good recipe. Include oregano, parsley & real minced garlic to the chilled butter. Once wrapped around the butter, first roll the chicken in seasoned flour, then the egg wash, then the seasoned bread, cracker or potato chip (plain) crumbs THEN wrap tightly in wax paper and chill for at least a half hour, longer if time allows. Can be made a day ahead. Only unwrap when you are ready to place in the hot fat. This avoids the need for tooth picks completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
this chicken was all - some! yummy yummy yummy. My family wanted me to make more. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YECKIE MOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This worked amazingly!! We forgot toothpicks so wrapped each bundle with hemp string, and coated them string and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States