Ukrainian Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was delicious. Sure there's a mistake in quoting 6 cubes of butter versus 8 chicken breasts but the contributor goes on to state that 1 cube of butter is required for each chicken breast. Obviously you are meant to cut 8 cubes of butter. It was an honest mistake/typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was very good. I'm impressed I actually was able to contain the butter, so that once you cut the chicken the butter squirts out. I didn't use toothpicks...I just placed it in the pan seam side down first. I browned both sides then put the whole pan right in the oven for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. Next time I will have to add more of the spices. I liked the flavor, so I wouldn't change the spices...just add more of them. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing my favorite dish from the famous restaurant...the Russian Tea Room in NYC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This Kiev recipe version is very good too, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This receipe has been a favorite of mine and my family for years. I've been making it for forty years or so. And when made right, nothing can beat it. Why someone would say it was dry is beyond me. They should say actually how they made it, because if you go according do any directions for chicken kiev, it won't be dry. Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Wailuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is dry like alot of chicken dishes, my trick for all chicken I make is to marinate in BUTTERMILK for 30-40 minutes. Makes any piece of chicken tender no matter how you cook it. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Kiev has always been the requested "birthday" meal, even now that my children are adults and home for a visit. Also was the end of term foods lab test for my high school classes. If it did not "squirt butter" you did not get full marks :-) so here are a few tweeks to an already good recipe. Include oregano, parsley & real minced garlic to the chilled butter. Once wrapped around the butter, first roll the chicken in seasoned flour, then the egg wash, then the seasoned bread, cracker or potato chip (plain) crumbs THEN wrap tightly in wax paper and chill for at least a half hour, longer if time allows. Can be made a day ahead. Only unwrap when you are ready to place in the hot fat. This avoids the need for tooth picks completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
this chicken was all - some! yummy yummy yummy. My family wanted me to make more. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YECKIE MOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This worked amazingly!! We forgot toothpicks so wrapped each bundle with hemp string, and coated them string and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Takes WAY more fry time than is listed. Fried them for 10-15 minutes on each side and they were still uncooked in the middle. This was too much effort and hassle for a mediocre outcome, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
A lot of work but very tasty. To keep it a bit healthier, I baked in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes and it browned up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States