Ukrainian Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This recipe suffers from a total lack of salt (unless you use salted butter). I use unsalted butter, so I added 1/4 tsp. salt to the butter and also the flour. I oven-baked mine and mine came out looking very sad & anemic but I think that's because I forgot the golden rule of flour-eggs-bread and went eggs-flour-bread (so as you can imagine the bread crumbs didn't stick and I think this is ultimately why it didn't brown.) My chickens were done in 20 minutes at 400 degrees. P.S. Do not use Italian bread crumbs in this recipe; I guarantee you won't like how it tastes with dill. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
So delicious! Changed the dried dill with fresh dill. Used panko instead of bread crumbs. And on cooking, I fry on a cast iron pan for 5 mins each side. Then put it in the oven for 20 mins to cook all the way thru. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was so good, I made it ahead of time froze it and took it out and baked it in the oven as one reviewer suggested. This was excellent I will make again. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Loved this!!!! Both my husband and son said it was restaurant quality!!! A definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I would like to try making these again, but I don't think I'm a good chicken pounder and roller upper :( It's an awkward process for me. But for my first time making chicken kiev this was a really good recipe to go off of. After trying some of the kievs I had to salt them before rolling them up, and I think next time I would like to add other kinds of ingredients for more flavor. Overall my family was quite happy with them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Loved it. a little messy but fun to make. The Bride said it was way better than the usual Shake & Bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Excellent dish, very tasty and easy to make! Think ahead and get that butter all set to use/1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
We tried this recipie on the weekend it was absolutally faboulous I would reccomend it to anyone. Keep them comming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Followed the instructions but even after 4 hours my butter did not freeze up. The coating was very tasty and you definitely would need to cook it longer the instructions say. I think next time i will put it in the oven to make it juicier. for the most part it was flavorful but i expected more from it. Basically its just another way to fry a chicken cutlet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Instead of pounding the chicken, make a slit in the thickest side of the breast without going through and stick the hardened butter mixture in it and then smooth the chicken over it. If you chill it for about 15 to 30 minutes, you won't have to use tooth picks then finish as recipe says. I got that info from America's Test Kitchen and it really works. It's very successful with cordon bleu also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Gilmer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States