Ukrainian Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Takes WAY more fry time than is listed. Fried them for 10-15 minutes on each side and they were still uncooked in the middle. This was too much effort and hassle for a mediocre outcome, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
A lot of work but very tasty. To keep it a bit healthier, I baked in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes and it browned up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Have made this a few times and on the 2nd time the chicken after frying was still a bit raw, so I took to putting it in the oven for about 20 minutes at 400F afterwards and not worrying about how well done it has to be on the skillet. I don't bother with the toothpicks. After it is rolled in the bread crumbs, I just put it seam down right on the skillet and it seals it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
a little messy, but the BEST kiev I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Great recipe. This is the first recipe I tried from this site and my boyfriend couldn't stop talking about it. He's a very picky eater with a crazy stomach but i cook a lot being young and from culinary school and although i had problems with the toothpicks. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly! And it turned out great. Lots of flavors! I would have to say it is as good as something you order in a restaurant! Highly Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe was good. Quite time consuming, but with more practice I think the timing and results will improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This is the best chicken I have had in a long time. My daughter loved it and so did my Hubby, and he's not a real chicken fan. The only thing I altered was I didnt rolled the butter into the chicken breast. I simply took the chicken breast, cut it into thin slices dipped it in the flour-egg-bread crumb mixture and fried them in butter. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I've looked for a decent chicken kiev recipe for ages, and was skeptical because this just sounded too simple. I just made this for one of my best friends and it has become a favourite of hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Absolutely perfect! I didn't change a thing and it came out beautifully. Tender and juicy, and FULL of flavor. I was surprised but the chicken sealed itself around the edges, so the butter never leaked out. Very filling and great for my crowded table. My only suggestion - because stove temperatures vary, make sure the oil isn't too hot or the chicken won't cook all the way in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States