Ukrainian Chereshnyanyk Cherry bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I did not like it at all... It wasnt that great/ maybe i followed the recipe wrong but, I thought I did everything correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I sprinkled a handful of white chocolate chips on top of the cherry pie filling, which was delicious, but I found the cake-base to be rather tough. When I made it, it certainly wasn't of a consistency that could be "patted" into place. I followed the recipe exactly, but it was almost the consistency of cake batter. Of all the desserts I made for Easter dinner, this was the least popular. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This was very good, but not quite what I thought it would be. From the "bar" name, I expected to get something harder, like a cookie. Instead, it was more towards a sponge-cake (not nearly as soft, though), or a cobbler like another reviewer wrote. My batch may have been a smidgen flatter than desired, since my dish was a little bigger at 9.5 x 13.5 inches; and I didn't quite spread the cherry-pie filling close enough to the edges. I "buttered" the dish with butter-flavored cooking spray. Also, I'd never used lemon zest - I just ran a somewhat fine grater over a lemon, and obtained 1/2 tsp. of finely grated stuff. However, my palate wasn't discriminating enough to discern the lemon juice and lemon zest, but it probably helped the recipe anyway. I used the suggested canned cherry-pie filling, and it tasted perhaps a bit "unfinished". However, slightly reheated in the microwave, it was maybe even better! Unfortunately, I let it sit around one day too long, and had to throw away the last third of the batch because little white spots of mold appeared (that hasn't happened in a long time!). So my advice to everyone is to gobble this up quickly. I'll add it to my recipe box. Thanks for a nice new treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
awesome, they taste just like the ones my grandma used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj jazzy jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Made this with fresh cherries, tried with both sweet and sour cherries. I just added more sugar and some flour to the sour cherries. I also saved some of the batter to put on top before baking. Besides the cherries I sprinkled on sliced almonds before topping with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I used strawberries & won't do that again. Next time I'm going to try apples with brown sugar & cinnamon or blueberry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I didn't have cream, so I also replace it with milk. I was surprised to have more of a batter than a dough. It was good, but turned out more like a cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
My husband cannot stop raving about this recipe-he says they are super delicious, awesome!! The only change I made was to use 1 cup milk instead of light cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States