Ukrainian Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
Great recipe. *Another way to remove cabbage from the head is to freeze it and then let it thaw completely.The leaves will then come off easily. (just a little family trick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is a really great starter recipe. When I make it, I add bacon, garlic, and plenty of herbs to the rice (whatever is your favorite--I use a lot of rosemary and basil) and it turns out great. I also use a previous reviewer's tip to serve these with sour cream, and it's a delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I made this last night. My daughter who swears she hates cabbage ate it all up. I topped it with sour cream it was an instant hit! Very simple to make, quick clean up. Will be a repeat dish in our home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is exactly as my mother-in-law made hers. I have made mine with ground beef or bought them from the stores with beef, but my husband prefers this original. I do have a super topping...mix a can of Campbell's Tomato soup with a bit of sour cream (maybe 1/4 cup) and a TBSP. or two of brown sugar, spread on top before baking and layer 3 strips of bacon over all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Just like the old country holobchi ma used to makr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Good basic recipe but lacks seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used sour cabbage and cut in fours (no need for steaming, and the leaves come off very nicely) I added shredded fresh dill and cooked salted pork finely diced and omitted the onion, the cook time is perfect, I also add a can of campbells tomato soup to the tomato juice to make it more creamier, great base recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpellswithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was good! Adjustments made: Used tomato paste on the top instead of juice. I added fresh basil, oregano, and parsley to the rice mix as well as some fresh chopped tomatoes. Also, I didn't cook for 3 hours, I was fine with covering it for 45 min, and uncovered for 20. Using a rice cooker helped to make the rice sticky- worked well in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I tried this recipe yesterday but I added ground beef into the mix as that is how my grandma use to make it and I doubled the recipe so I could freeze the rest. It's a lot of work and not something I would make again during the week. Other than that the Cabbage rolls were good and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshinenewday
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Pretty good, next time I'm going to add meat though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinenewday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States