Ukrainian Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I tried this recipe yesterday but I added ground beef into the mix as that is how my grandma use to make it and I doubled the recipe so I could freeze the rest. It's a lot of work and not something I would make again during the week. Other than that the Cabbage rolls were good and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
My Urkanian aunts only made it with pork, so I did the same. It was a good simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshinenewday
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Pretty good, next time I'm going to add meat though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinenewday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is a really great starter recipe. When I make it, I add bacon, garlic, and plenty of herbs to the rice (whatever is your favorite--I use a lot of rosemary and basil) and it turns out great. I also use a previous reviewer's tip to serve these with sour cream, and it's a delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I didn't like this and ended up throwing most of it away. I boiled the cabbage to try and remove the leaves, but I used red cabbage and it ended up turning a blue color (sort of unappetizing and probably partly my fault for not doing proper research). This lacked flavor, and while I did add some things to try and fix this, it didn't do much to correct the problem. Sorry, I just don't think Eastern European food is my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Just like the old country holobchi ma used to makr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I made this last night. My daughter who swears she hates cabbage ate it all up. I topped it with sour cream it was an instant hit! Very simple to make, quick clean up. Will be a repeat dish in our home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
Great recipe. *Another way to remove cabbage from the head is to freeze it and then let it thaw completely.The leaves will then come off easily. (just a little family trick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Good basic recipe but lacks seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States