Ukrainian Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was super delicious. I did change the recipe a bit. I used a rice cooker for the rice instead of cooking it stovetop and just dumped it in with the onions after I was done with them. I also added rosemary to the filling. Instead of tomato sauce, I just chopped up 2 sweet hand picked tomatoes and threw it on top of the cabbage rolls. As well, I simmered it stovetop on the lowest setting instead of baking it. I will definitely be making this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe and matches very closely to what my Ukranian Mother-in-law made except she added ground beef which is added raw to the cooked rice. The key is to keep the filling simple. Not too much ground beef - no more than 50/50 ratio meat to rice. The cabbage and tomatoe sauce (instead of tomotoe juice) provides plenty of flavor without going overboard with the filling. Then, of couse, you must serve with sour cream. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I parboiled the cabbage leaves prior to assembly and used brown rice. I sauted about 5 strips of bacon and crumbled them in the rice along with the onions that I softened in the bacon fat. I didn't have tomato juice so I pureed a can of petite diced tomatoes. Baked the whole thing about 30 minutes at 350. My husband loved this recipe, so I'm sure I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I really enjoyed these. I was looking for a recipe that could use some cabbage and ran across this. I only had 1/2 a head of cabbage. I added the bacon (great suggestion), rosemary, basil, didn't have can of tomato just added tomato sauce and topped with cheese. It was great. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justicesamsin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I tried this recipe yesterday but I added ground beef into the mix as that is how my grandma use to make it and I doubled the recipe so I could freeze the rest. It's a lot of work and not something I would make again during the week. Other than that the Cabbage rolls were good and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
My Urkanian aunts only made it with pork, so I did the same. It was a good simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshinenewday
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Pretty good, next time I'm going to add meat though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinenewday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is a really great starter recipe. When I make it, I add bacon, garlic, and plenty of herbs to the rice (whatever is your favorite--I use a lot of rosemary and basil) and it turns out great. I also use a previous reviewer's tip to serve these with sour cream, and it's a delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I didn't like this and ended up throwing most of it away. I boiled the cabbage to try and remove the leaves, but I used red cabbage and it ended up turning a blue color (sort of unappetizing and probably partly my fault for not doing proper research). This lacked flavor, and while I did add some things to try and fix this, it didn't do much to correct the problem. Sorry, I just don't think Eastern European food is my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Just like the old country holobchi ma used to makr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States